Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Lynda

Personal Details

Reference # 201-24080
Name Lynda
Nationality South African
Age 54
Gender Female
Marital Status Divorced
Languages English (1 st) , Afrikaans (2nd) ( understand not speak)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?  Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes,regularly serviced.
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Daihatsu Charade 2006 model
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2003

Education

Secondary Education
Cape Town High School, - 1983
Tertiary Education
Pam Golding: In House Training Courses: Training College
First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingLooked after twins 2 years and last year when they were on holiday here for 3 weeks from California. April to May 2010 and August / September 2011.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Twin girls, 4 years old.
What were your duties?Entertaining, feeding, bathing, outings to aquarium, plinka plonka, park, age appropriate activities, preparing meals

 

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving10 years - Ad-hoc basis, I still assist from time to time
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 Boy, I started when he was born, he is now 11 years old.
What were your duties?I looked after him when his mom went to work. Took him on outings to the park, age appropriate movies, activities, museums or planetariums. I also made him food etc.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingSeptember 2010 to February 2011. I only assisted the stay at home mom while they became accustomed to Cape Town.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?5 French children, aged from 3 - 1- years old.
What were your duties?Entertained the children, played board games with them, drawing, colouring in, playing in the garden, bathing and feeding the children.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingAd-hoc baby-sitting only. (2012)
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 Boys, 4 and 8 years old.
What were your duties?Feeding, bathing, age appropriate games, outings etc.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I am a mother of a 21 year old daughter, whom I have raised on my own without any assistance. I have a few years of Au-pair experience and many years of looking after my friends/family children.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?Child care is a natural feeling for me as I am a nurturer and I enjoy looking after children. I would have loved to have been a teacher, but unfortunately I did not have the opportunity to go and study after Matric.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?Besides my own from new born,  the youngest child I have cared for was a 7 month old baby boy ( professional reference).
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I am currently working half days at UCT Graduate School of Business. I enjoy nature, movies and spending time with my daughter.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?Seeing the child growing and thriving, being part of teaching new skills, showing care, love and giving positive attention.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Reading with the child, drawing, colouring in, singing, dancing, educational activities.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Would contact the parents and also an ambulance. I would also give First Aid.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Luckily I have not had a difficult situation with someone else´s child. My own daughter put a plastic object up her nostril, and took her immediately to hospital for the doctor to remove it. I had to remain calm.
What is your approach to discipline? I feel that communication between carer and child is very important. I would follow through on the parents methodology though.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would try to distract the child with an activity and also make sure that the child is not in danger of harming him / herself.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would advise that it would be better to draw on paper and take out the necessary paper, coloring pens etc and engage the child to come and sit and do the activity
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would advise that if the homework is not done then I would take away the "treats" / watching favorite movie or programme
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?All age groups
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, assisting with baby-sitting
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?Yes, daughter aged 21 years old. I have also assisted in raising my step son.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?Loyal, trustworthy, loving, caring, kind hearted.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastCereal / oats / fruit / toast /
LunchChicken / vegetables / salad
DinnerFish / vegetables / salad
SnackFruit / nuts
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I have 1 daughter, 1 step son and 2 step daughters - we have a lot of contact with the siblings. Unfortunately both my parents have passed on. I have lots of friends and extended family.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.