Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Susan

Personal Details

Reference # 201-24021
Name Susan
Nationality South African
Age 29
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages Enlgish

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Mazda Sting
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2011

Education

Secondary Education
Bergvliet High School
Tertiary Education
Currently busy with an undergraduate BA degree in psychology and organisational psychology -University of Cape Town.
First aid TrainingNo

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingAug 2006 to currently. I have given her notice due to me desire to au-pair for a new family in 2012.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children, both girls, 9 and 10 years old.
What were your duties?Playing with them, helping with homework, putting them to bed, facilitating creative activities, helping at dinner time and facilitating at their birthday parties.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingJune - September 2009 It was a seasonal position
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?6-25 children (depending on the size of the activity group), girls and boys, ages 7 to 16 years/
What were your duties?

• Ensuring daily schedules were followed by campers (they were on time for their activities, completed chores etc.).

• Encourage children, ensuring a positive camp experience (provide support for any homesick campers).

• Lead various activities for larger groups (including drama, art, music, dance and water sports).

  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingDecember 2009 to currently. I work for him on a freelance basis.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?20-80 children, girls and boys, 10 to 18 years old.
What were your duties?Activity facilitator for various activities at the school camps.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?5 years
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I became a babysitter in my early teens, and I have always been interested in working with children. I am currently studying psychology with a specific interest in children.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?10 months
  
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I enjoy the outdoors and I often go for walks in my spare time. I have had jobs related to outdoor adventure activities such as river guiding, sail crew on Trans-Atlantic voyages and working as a cook on a yacht in the Caribbean and Mediterranean seas. I have done quite a bit of traveling over the past 2 years and I have a fun and adventurous nature combined with responsibility and reliability.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I think children are fantastic - they are often uninhibited and see the world in a fresh perspective which I can appreciate. Ensuring that a child feels safe, nourished and is having fun is a great treat for me.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Creative activities such as dramatic skits and dance routines (the girls usually love this!). Painting and drawing are allow the children to be creative and to express themselves. If the weather is good then I love to have a swim with the kids, or play games in the garden. I also like to kick a ball around with them every now and then, to get some exercise.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Call for help immediately (police ambulance,etc) Call the parents immediately Depending on the problem, I would use what skills I have learnt in first aid. My father is a doctor, so I could also call him.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?At the American summer camp I worked at there was a child who had been adopted by a American family. She was originally from a west African country which had gone through civil war. She wet the bed every night, had night terrors, and one evening she wet herself in front of all her peers. In that situation I had to take her by the hand back to the cabin, help her undress and ensure that she showered. The main thing was ensuring that she knew I was there for her, and to be her friend despite her embarrassment. I had to encourage the other campers to exercise acceptance and understanding.
What is your approach to discipline?I am stern with children once they have crossed the boundaries. I think it is important to discuss the incident with the parents afterwards to ensure that my discipline is consistent with their views on discipline.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Firstly, I would remain calm, and not budge from my previous decision. I would try and calm the child down verbally and explain to them why particular behaviours are unacceptable, but also highlighting the possible alternatives to behaviour. A change of scenery would be beneficial.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would explain to the child that drawing on the walls is not allowed in this house, that is the rule. I would point out how beautiful the child's drawings are and encourage them to draw on paper, so that it can be put on the fridge door.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Establishing a reward system with the children and parents could be beneficial, for example a star chart. If the child refuses to do homework, a certain amount of stars can be removed from the chart and this can be explained to the child, alternatively I could explain to the child that doing their homework will reward them with stars.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?School-going age, 6 and above.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I babysit occasionally for Anthea Pinheiro. I also work for Frixion Adventures (Brett Pomario) on a freelance basis - so whenever I have the time.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I would describe myself as creative and inventive. I am easy-going and have a keen sense of adventure. I take my work seriously, understanding the great rewards that come with hard work. I can be soft and insightful, loving and empathetic.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastFull English breakfasts, French toast, fruit salad, porridge, pancakes, and other simple meals
LunchSimple meals: pasta, salads, toasted sandwiches
DinnerLasagne, grilled chicken or fish, stews, spaghetti bolognaise
SnackFruit salads, crackers and cheese and chopped veggies
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Simple foods
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I am the youngest of three children; I have an older brother and sister. My brother is a branch manager for Kumon maths tutoring, and my sister is teaching English in Korea. My father is a paediatrician at Red Cross and UCT Medical School, he also lives in Cape Town. My mother is a retired special needs teacher, having worked at Vista Nova School. She currently lives in Graaff Reinett

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.