Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Jessica

Personal Details

Reference # 201-23934
Name Jessica
Nationality South African
Age 29
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st), Afrikaans (2nd, understand, not comfortable to speak formally)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes, regularly serviced
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Renault scenic 2006
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?March 2008

Education

Secondary Education
Somerset College - 2008
Tertiary Education

I did my 1st year of Fashion design at Elizabeth Galoway academy in Stellenbosch.It was on this course that I realised I preferred the business side of it.-2009

I started a Bachelor of Consumer Science In Fashion Retail Management through UNISA - 2010

First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingMoving back to Cape Town from Johannesburg
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Three children ages 6,8,16
What were your duties?I live in with this family. I fetch the children from school. Starting with the youngest at 12h30. I bring him home give him lunch and we do homework together. I then fetch their 8 year old daughter and we also do homework. I spend the rest of the afternoon, playing with them. We have a lot of fun together. Playing drawing games, reading, swimming etc.I then fetch the oldest child from school. I often take them on outings as well. I get on well with the family and am quite sad to be leaving.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingDurban May 2010 to Dec 2010. I  moved to Johannesburg
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Two children ages 4 and 5
What were your duties?I looked after and played with children as well as fetched them from school. I mainly assisted this family over weekends and holidays. I really enjoyed working with them and we get on very well. They actually flew me down to Durban 3 times at the beginning of this year to assist them for a week at a time.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingMay 2010 to December 2010. I moved to Johannesburg
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?two children age2 and 5 years old.
What were your duties?I did not yet have my own car at this stage so I would walk to their house from my place to arrive at 12h30, just as the boy got home from school. He has aspergers syndrome. I would give him lunch and play with him. Occasionally I would take him to OT in the next town using Delia's car. He was an angel. I loved him very much and investigated therapy and exercises to do with him that would assist him. I would also look after the little one when she woke up later in the afternoon and we would all play together. I had a good relationship with Delia and we are still in touch.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingMarch - December 2011, I moved to Cape Town
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?3 Children, ages 6, 8 and 16 years old.
What were your duties?I was their afternoon Au-pair
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Two years of au pairing experience. I have been babysitting since the age of 16.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I love children, I enjoy caring for them. I am studying, part time so au-pair work suits me well as it is day work not night work so I can still function normally.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?Two years old
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I am studying through Unisa, reading ,watching movies, exercise.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?Children always surprise me with how much they pick up on, children need lots of love and care and support and that one on one attention.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Reading, swimming, playing
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?If there were any sort of emergency, I would take children to the hospital and inform the parents of the situation.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Two children fighting, I spoke to the children and explained to them that they were wrong and should apologise to one another.
What is your approach to discipline?Children need discipline and need to know what is right and wrong and where they stand

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would first calm the two year old down and then talk them about they way they behaved
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would tell them off in a calm tone of voice and then explain to them that we do not draw on walls
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would tell them that homework is the first priority and then playing time
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?4 year to 10 years.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a friendly , warm and loving person, with lots of energy and compassion
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes.
BreakfastEggs and bacon, flap jacks
Lunchtoasted sandwich, fish fingers, snackwich
DinnerChicken, spaghetti
Snackfruit, dried fruit, yoghurt etc.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My parents and sister live in Stellenbosch. My parents are still together. Natasha my sister is still at school. She is very sports. We are an extremely close and open family.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.