Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Catherine Alice

Personal Details

Reference # 201-23916
Name Catherine Alice
Nationality South African
Age 51
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st) and Afrikaans (2nd) and Greek(3rd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Kia Picarti
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?1998

Education

Secondary Education
Landsdowne High 
Tertiary Education

Muizenberg Technikon - Secretary Course.

Stellenbosch University - Movement Program, movement for children, coordinating etc.

First aid TrainingYes 

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI started on the 15th of July 2009 - 15 July 2010, Roma decided to be a stay at home mom and I was not needed any more.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I looked after one boy he was 6 months old when I started.
What were your duties?Cooking, I was in charge of the house and taking care of him. I had to supervise the domestic, Roma traveled overseas as well and I would then stay over and look after him. We used to play blocks, drawing, colour in, go to the park, take him to swimming lessons, got into pool with him, Prepared lunch and supper for him, changed nappies and clothes. I enjoyed it, we are still in contact.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving7 August 2010 - 31 March 2011, Better prospects, it was a temporary position.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I looked after 2 Children, 3 and 5 years old both boys
What were your duties?Taking care of children, taking to extra murals and Sunday to a Greek church. I assisted them with homework and did activities with them.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leaving10 Jan 2006 - Feb 2007
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I looked after 2 children, a Girl who was a year old and boy from newborn.
What were your duties?I had to care for the children, taking and fetching the eldest from playschool, I also did some Ironing, cleaning and occasional cooking.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leaving28 March - 1 May 2011.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I looked after 1 Girl, she was 3 months old.
What were your duties?I worked mostly Night Shift. The family was busy relocating and the mom had depression. I sometimes worked in the afternoons and evenings as well. I had to change Nappies, preparing and feeding of Bottles, put to sleep.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula
False Bay
West Coast
Stellenbosch

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I started caring for children in 1997. (15 years).
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?When I was young I did volunteering work, it just took to me, I love working with children.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I have cared for was Newborn.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I go to gym, love going to the beach. I am currently working for a family in Welgemoed during the evenings.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I find them very interesting and love being able to help them, it is fun to do things with them.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Drawing, colouring in, going to the park, play outside or inside.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Depends on what the situation is. If it is for example a fever or convulsion, I would give the child Voltaren, contact the parents and take child to hospital.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?No difficult situation yet.
What is your approach to discipline?Depends on the parents, I do time out in the corner with a chair, no hitting, explain why they are being punished.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I will walk away, when the child is finished, speak to them about it and explain it is wrong.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Tell them "No", make them clean it and explain it is wrong, they should draw on paper instead.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?He has to explain to the teacher when it is not done. I would talk to parents and figure out a punishment with them.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable working with children from Newborn - 5 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, a family in Welgemoed during the evenings.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am open minded, loveable, I am always willing to learn new thing, I am outgoing and outspoken.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastCereal
LunchSandwich
DinnerRoast chicken and potatoes, mac and cheese and a salad.
SnackFruit and yoghurt and juice.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I have one brother, he has 4 kids, my Mom and Dad are still together and live on the same premises as my brother. We are very close.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.