Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Chelyn

Personal Details

Reference # 201-23903
Name Chelyn
Nationality South African
Age 30
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English(1st), Afrikaans (Understand)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes, regularly serviced
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)1.4 Hyundai Getz 2008 model
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?Yes
If yes, please describe the accident and when it happenedI bumped into a pole.
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2007

Education

Secondary EducationBergvliet High School- 2007.
Tertiary Education
Bachelor of Social Science majoring in Psychology and Organisational Psychology
First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving2007, baby-sitting for a year, adhoc.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I looked after 2 children, a 3 year old girl and a 7 year old boy.
What were your duties?I got there in the evening and made sure they ate, their mom usually cooked already, I then bathed them and get them to put on pajamas. I assisted with the oldest homework, entertained them, played barbies, movies etc. and then put them to bed.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving2007 - baby-sitting for a year, adhoc.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I looked after 1 Child, a 3 year old girl
What were your duties?I had to entertain her until bedtime, played games, watched TV.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingIt was in 2011, I wanted to try events.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I looked after 2 Children, a 7 year old boy and a 8 year old girl.
What were your duties?I was their Au-pair, this included fetching them from school, extra murals as well as assisting them with homework. Pick them up from school, homework, parties or where they had to go.
 
 

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingIt was in 2010 for a month.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 Children, 11 year old girl and the boy was 16.
What were your duties?I had to pick them up from school, driving, I had to assist homework with the girl, cover books, prepared snacks etc.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula
West Coast

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Altogether 1 year. On and off since 2007.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I used to baby-sit while I was in Matric . I enjoy looking after children.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I have cared for was 3 years old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I do yoga, I gym a lot, I enjoy reading and building puzzles.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?The experience to look after them and watching them grow and enjoying every moment.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Park, puzzles, play games, assisting with homework.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Try to remove child from situation, seek medical attention, phone parents when situation is under control.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?The girl I looked after - Jess had a big tantrum, she was running around, did not want to go to bed. She had to do time-out on the toilet as per her mom, I  spoke to her calmly, reassured her and sat with her.
What is your approach to discipline?No shouting, it scares them. Talk to them sternly, I am not playing. No smacking.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Depend on parents, calm the child, speak to them, don't give in to what they want. Soothe the situation. 
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Not acceptable, dont write on walls. Give them paper to draw on.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?When parents get home it should be done or they wont be happy, kids don't want to disappoint them. Benefits, when done they can play.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?3 Years old and up to 16 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am confident, well-spoken, problem solver, I get along well with kids.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastJungle Oats, cereal.
LunchSandwiches, fruit, soup
DinnerSpaghetti / macaroni, fishfingers and mash, pops and veggies.
SnackFruit stix, biscuits, ice-cream.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My parents are divorced, I live with my mom and sister, my mom owns a pharmaceutical company, my dad is in sales for a printing company. My sister is going to matric next year.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.