Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Jessica

Personal Details

Reference # 201-23894
Name Jessica
Nationality South African
Age 29
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st), Afrikaans - Understand

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes, regularly serviced
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Opel Corsa 2008 model
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2009

Education

Secondary Education
Rand Park High School - 2008
Tertiary Education

UNISA-Higher certificate - Basic Adult Education and Training - 2015

Pro ED Ttraining - NQF4 Early Childhood Development Degree - (Currently Busy Studying)

First aid TrainingNo

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingSince 2010,My 2nd year and have not left, I Au Pair for her family
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?3 Girls 8 years. 10 years and 11 years when I started they are all a year older now.
What were your duties?I pick the girls up from school at 14:00, bring them home and make them lunch. I assist them with homework and I drive them to extra murals. I then fetch them again and we complete homework until mom gets home at about 16:30 - 17:30. I also take them shopping, but mostly for school supplies etc. I am very close with the family, we have a very good relationship.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving2006 - 2007,12 Months. I left to focus more on my studies for Matric.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?The children's ages ranged from 2 - 10 years old, male and female.
What were your duties?I was a Children's party coordinator at Hoots and Toots. We had themed party rooms. We had to decorate the rooms for the party. When the children arrived, we entertained them and served them snacks which we had prepared. We cut the cake and supervised while they did donkey and train rides. We had to make sure that everything went smoothly.It was a fun working environment.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leaving16 March – Present
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children (1 boy and 1 girl)
What were your duties?

I am currently an Au Pair for a family in Bromhof, looking after 2 children (1 boy and 1 girl) my duties include fetching the children from school, take to extra murals, assisting with lunch and dinner prep , general supervision and age appropriate stimulation.

  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2010 – March 2017
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? 
What were your duties?

Duties included ensuring that their 3 children(girls) get collected from school on time, feeding the children lunch and snacks, fetching and dropping at extra mural activities, helping with Homework and projects, and everyday choirs that must be done daily by the children, helped with cooking and any personal errands needed by the family. staying overnight with the children if the parents went away and did occasional evening baby sitting too.

  

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg Sandton
Johannesburg West

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have been caring for children since 2008.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?My mom is a child hairdresser. I assisted from time to time and enjoyed it so I decided to try out au pairing. I got involved working with kids when I started working at a kids party venue and helping out at a nursery school. I am interested as I am looking at becoming a teacher. I enjoy working with kids.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?When I worked at a nursery school it was with toddlers from age 1. I have helped out looking after babies as well.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I enjoy relaxing, watching movies and being around my family and friends. I like doing outdoor activities like swimming or indoor rock climbing. I do dancing and I currently Au-pair in the afternoons.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I enjoy being part of childcare as I am helping them to learn and grow. I enjoy the interaction with children, offering them my help, love and care.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I like to do outdoor activities like rock climbing, slides etc, games like 1-2-3, swimming, hide and seek etc. I also like to make pictures like sand art designs etc. with them.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Depending on what the emergency is, I would stay calm and help and comfort the child and call the parents and let them know what happened. I would also call for an ambulance, depending on how bad it is or take the child to hospital myself.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?When I was helping out at a nursery school and a little girl fell and cracked her head open. I ran to the girl, sent another child to get gloves and helped the child get up and checked that she did not have a concussion. I carried her to the office to try and clean the wound and then called the parents to take her to the doctor. I handled the situation very well and did not panic.
What is your approach to discipline?It depends on how the parents use discipline, but usually it consists of time out or taking luxuries away for a period of time. I can be very strict when need be.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I will let the child get it out of his system, then talk to the child and give him time-out.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would punish them by taking a privilege away.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would explain to him why he has to do it and if not take away a privilege.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable working with children from 1 - 15 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, I Au-Pair in the afternoons from about 13:00
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I can be fun, I am very outgoing, very reliable and very honest. I am very scared of heights.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastBalanced meal like cereal, fruit juice or fruit.
LunchSalad, toasted sandwich, yoghurt with fruit.
DinnerRoasted chicken, vegetables and a starch.
SnackFruit, nuts, biltong.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My mom is a child hairdresser and my dad works for Mercedes Benz. I have a older brother who lives in England.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.