Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Marissa

Personal Details

Reference # 201-23830
Name Marissa
Nationality South African
Age 30
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages Afrikaans(1st), English (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Chevrolet Aveo 2010
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2007

Education

Secondary Education
Hoërskool Brandwag - 2007
Tertiary Education
North-West University. B.Ed (Foundation phase) - ( 2008- 2011)
First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving2008-2011 (Holidays and weekends). I had to focus on my last semester of my studies.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 Children Girl: Grade 1 (6 years) Boy: Grade 5 (10 years)
What were your duties?Playing with the children and keeping them safe. I would work from 8am to 5pm. Preparing meals and snacks for the children. Helping to keep the children’s room tidy.Bathing and dressing the girl. Helping with homework. Taking the children on outings to parks and other activities. Keep them entertained and away from the TV during the school holidays.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2010 -November 2011. I have finished my studies, I have moved back to Benoni.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?One on One tutoring with around 25 children per day, 3 years old to 14 years old for English. Then from 5 years to 9 years old for Maths.
What were your duties?I had to assist the children, mark their work, assisting with test training. I worked Mondays and Tuesdays from 2pm to 6pm.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg East Rand
Johannesburg Sandton
PRETORIA
Pretoria East

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full time Negotiable
Part time Negotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?3 years
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have a passion for working with children. I got involved, because a friend of my family asked me to au pair his children.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?6 years old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I an assistant at KUMON Education (Mathematics and English) where I have to: Mark English/Maths worksheets; Pack English/Maths worksheets; Guide students on the worksheets.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I like being part of something bigger than myself. Seeing the progress a child goes through and stimulating the child in that process.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I enjoy swimming with them and playing games in the back yard. I also enjoy riding bicycle with them. I enjoy helping them with their homework (I am after all a B.Ed student) and being creative.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Apply my fist aid knowledge, call the emergency service, call the children´s parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Staying calm, and remaining objective when the kids fought.
What is your approach to discipline?I feel that it is important to earn their respect.  Apply the house rules and be firm but fair.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would remain calm and strict. I will not allow the child to manipulate me, but I will do my best to solve what ever problem caused the tantrum.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I will ask the child to clean the wall with me.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I will do my best to make the homework session fun. (reward and praise the child)
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?3 years- 13 years
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am an extrovert, I am a positive person and can handle discipline. I am a good communicator and a happy friendly person who love working with children.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastEggs, toast, French toast, sausages, bacon, porridge, flap jacks
LunchToasted sandwiches, pasta salads, pancakes
DinnerPasta/potato dishes, meat, vegetable
SnackMilkshakes, crackers and cheese, baked goods
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Stews
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I am part of a big happy family. I have 3 sisters (24 years, 23 years and 20 years). I have 2 brothers (32 years and 29 years). We were raised in Benoni, but are all grown up, out of the house and living all around the world (Australia, San Diago, Pretoria and Pochefstroom). We enjoy spending quality time together and sharing stories of our lives with one another.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.