Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Kim Catherine

Personal Details

Reference # 201-23762
Name Kim Catherine
Nationality South African
Age 31
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes, serviced regularly
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Honda ballade 2004
Do you have seat belts all round?No
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No, only had a guy bump into me from behind once.
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2006

Education

Secondary Education
Alen Glen High School - 2005
Tertiary Education

Wits - B-Ed - 2006 (1st year only). I was not ready to study and had a bad experience with the practical work we had to do. I decided to drop out. 

South West Gauteng college - N4 and N5 and N6(It was 18 months theory) - (mid 2009- end 2010)

First aid TrainingYes, level 1. Valid for three years. Completed end 2010.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingMarch 2007 - March 2011, Relocated to Johannesburg
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 Boys, 7 and 9 years old.
What were your duties?When I started I fetched the youngest boy from school and then would pick up the older child. We would do homework, extra maths classes for the youngest and swimming, taking them to extra murals, fetching them from school, arranging everything that had to do with the boys and entertained them. Then after the first year the oldest moved back to his dad in Zimbabwe. The youngest and I became very close. We did everything together, I attended to all his requirements, including setting up play dates, seeing his teachers, setting up his parties etc. 
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg East Rand
Johannesburg Sandton
Johannesburg South
Johannesburg West

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have 4 years of au pairing experience, but with children in general I have more through my practicals in my education courses (nursury school and gr. 1) and babysitting.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I got involved in Au-pairing because I simply love children, they are my passion and it brings me great joy to watch them grow and assist in their growth. I also studied Educare and would one day love to have my own nursery school.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?I have cared for babies from birth.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I spend my spare time with family and friends, I enjoy the outdoors and I am always willing to try new adventures. Because I recently moved to Cape Town, I spent time on the beach and exploring the new city.I do not have other jobs, but my hobbies  - I enjoy playing and watching sports and playing with my nephews takes up most of my time.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I love that they are like clay waiting to be molded into something fantastic. I love that they are so eager to learn and to be loved.I enjoy playing with children, listening to them and teaching them.The most rewarding part is to watch the child grow and know that you had a part to play in that growth.I could go on forever.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I enjoy playing almost anything except endless TV games.Playing outside, swimming, painting, kicking a ball, skating (attempting to at least) and going to the movies every now and then.Going to the park and enjoying good old fashion playing.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Most importantly notify the parents of the situation. Depending on the situation I would act accordingly, which should be discussed by the parents and me before I start working for them.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I have been lucky enough to have never been in a extremely difficult situation that I did not know how to deal with out of instinct.If I were to, I would stay calm and approach the situation the best I know how.
What is your approach to discipline?I am a firm believer to speaking to the child and explaining what is wrong and explaining why it is wrong and should not happen again.I also think that rewarding a child when something is done right or when a child has listened, but not for every little thing

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Stay calm and take the child to their room and explain to them that they are not to come out until they are sorry for their unacceptable behaviour.Once they come out of the room, it should be forgotten and should not be held against the child.It is important that in a situation like this not to get worked up and to stay calm and firm.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?You stop them immediately if you catch them in the act and tell them it is not allowed.They must also clean it off the wall and maybe a sticker should be removed from their chart or which ever method is being used.It also depends on which method the parents is using for discipline.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I used to allow the boy I worked with to go outside for 10 minutes and jump on the trampoline or play outside if he could not focus.Children are only humans and will feel like not doing their homework sometimes, but if you take their mind of it or redirect their energy into something fun and tell them they can play for a while but then it is time for homework.Homework must become a routine for children, it must not be done when they feel like it.There is a set time for homework, playing and doing nothing.Children strive on routine.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?0-10 years
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?Loving, playful, ambitious and very passionate about everything I do.I am very family orientated, can be shy at times, but have a very bubbly personality. I adore children and love dogs.I perform well under pressure and consider myself a very fast learner.I have a lot of patience and I love to have a good laugh.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastEgg and a slice of toast, if preferred a cereal.
LunchA toasted sandwich (if it was cereal for breakfast)
DinnerLasagne
SnackFruit and a yoghurt
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Big pots of food.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I am a twin, we are like day and night. She is studying law at the moment. I also have a older sister and my lovely parents.We are not a very big family, but we are very close. I have 2 nephews and my adorable little dog.I moved from my parents, twin sister and dog in Johannesburg to my older sister and nephews.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.