Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Dineo

Personal Details

Reference # 201-23737
Name Dineo
Nationality South African
Age 32
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (Fluent),Sesotho( 1st),Zulu,Xhosa and Tswana

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Ford Figo 1.4 Trend 2011
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2008

Education

Secondary Education
Sundown High School in Sandton - 2006.
Tertiary Education

Damelin - Sales and Marketing Certificate - 2009

NOVA - Northern Virginia Community College  - Business Communications Certificate - 2011.

Unisa - Study Foundation Phase - 2012.

First aid TrainingNo, but I will be registering for a course soon.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving24 January 2011 - 23 January 2012, My visa was only for a year, my contract ended.  I wanted to work on my degree in SA this year as well.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I looked after 1 Girl, she was 2 and a half months old when I started. They also had a older daughter of 16 who I sometimes had to pick up from school or drive her around. But I was responsible for the little one mostly.
What were your duties?

This was a live in position. I had to work a maximum of 10 hours a day and 48 hours a week. I would start in the mornings, I would get the baby from her room, change her and get her ready for the day. We would then go down stairs and I would make her a bottle and her breakfast and feed her. We would then do ABC's and words, literacy like reading and educational games. She would then play while I had breakfast. I then took her to story time at the library at 10:00 with other children - which was very educational for her as well. When we got got back, I would prepare her lunch and a bottle, get her ready for her nap, change her etc. She took a afternoon nap of 2 hours. I then had a break and lunch. When she woke up from her nap, I would change her again and we would then go for a walk or a activity outside. I finished work at 15:00 or 16:00 when the parents came home and took over. I did her laundry on Fridays, cleaned up her room, bathed her, fed her and I sometimes baby-sat her in the evenings.I had to keep her safe at all times

I got along with them very well and I miss them so much.

  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingI started in December 2009 - December 2010. I left to do Au-Pairing overseas.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I looked after a girl, she was 2 years old when I started.
What were your duties?This was only a on / off position on some days when needed. I would get there and make her a bottle and feed her. We went for walks, I would play with her, colour in and made sure she took her naps, I would help out and do laundry and helped with her hair, we watched cartoons and sing alongs together. I got along with them very well.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingI started there in September 2010, for 2 months on / off baby-sitting.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I looked after a boy who was 1 years old when I started.
What were your duties?I worked there during the day when needed, looking after him, I just had to feed him and make his bottles and played with him and entertained him. His grandmother was also there.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

DURBAN

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have childcare experience since 2008.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I lived with my grandmother and looked after kids that came there. I also volunteered at an Children's Home when I was young and found that I love children and would like to work with them.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for? The youngest child I have cared for was 2 and a half months old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I like to go to the Gym, reading, meeting friends. I do not have any other jobs at the moment.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I think that children are so loving and accepting and the warmth you get in a relationship with the child is just wonderful.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I like to go for walks, go to the park, reading to them, take them to the library, swimming with them and baking with them when they are old enough.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would firstly phone the emergency number, it depends on what the situation is, apply first aid if possible. Remove the child from a situation if there is a danger in the house and then call the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?The baby girl I looked after, it was difficult when she was teething, I made sure that there was always a frozen teething ring, I made sure she took regular naps and I administered her medicine according to the parents.
What is your approach to discipline?I would respect the parents wishes, with their permission, do something like time-out and make sure they apologize. Talk to them firmly. Explain to them what is right or not.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Try to allow them to calm down, find out what was bothering them and follow what the parents would want me to do and not make it worse.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?The first 2 times I would tell them it is not allowed and confiscate the crayons. After that they would have to help me clean the wall and I would let them know that it is not fun to clean the wall.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would take away privileges and tell your parents. I would make sure that they know that there are repercussions.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable working with children from 3 months up to 9 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am very easily approachable, outspoken, outgoing, fun, and loving. I get attached easily and I am very organised.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes, I love it.
BreakfastCereal with fruits in it
LunchPasta with sauce
DinnerChicken nuggets, steamed baby potatoes, veggies
SnackFruit, frozen dried fruit
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My mom passed away when I was 10, my legal guardians is my grand parents, I have an older brother from my mother - we are very close. I have a sister and 2 brothers through my grandparents. We all still keep in touch, we are all very close. We are a very large family.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.