Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Jessica

Personal Details

Reference # 201-23709
Name Jessica
Nationality South African
Age 28
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English ( 1st) and Afrikaans (understand, do not speak)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes, regularly serviced
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)VW Polo 1.4 2009
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
If yes, please describe the accident and when it happened 
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2009

Education

Have you completed matricYes
Where did you attend high schoolSt Stithians  2009 Randburg
What was your pass rate for Matric100% pass rate, 77% average,
Have you completed any other studies?If yes, what courses are you busy with or have you completed?Yes, currently studying 2nd year architecture at Wits University.
First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving Over the last 8 to 9 years
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children age 9 and 6 now, but new born when I started assisting 
What were your duties?Babysitting, daytime care, activities, taking them on outings , feeding them when they were little, changed diapers.
Do you know the applicant?Yes

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingSince May 2011. Still assisting from time to time
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? New born boy
What were your duties? Baby-Sitting, feeding, bathing, changing, soothing and playing
Do you know the applicant?Yes

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leaving7-13 November 2011. They decided they need a full time Au-Pair next year as they travel a lot and due to my varsity commitments I am not suitable.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 girl, 8 months old.
What were your duties?I had to look after their 8 month old daughter, travelled to Bloemfontein for a weekend with the family. Changed nappies, made and sterilised bottles, dummies etc, dresses her, went to clamber club, played with her, practised standing, rolling etc and went on outings with her and her parents.
Do you know the applicant?Yes

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leaving30 December 2011 - Present
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 Girls, 7 and 10 years old.
What were your duties?Fetching them from school, making them snacks and lunch and doing activities with them, such as baking, swimming, crafts etc.
Do you know the applicant? 

Reference 5:

Period and reason for leaving 
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? 
What were your duties? 
Do you know the applicant? 

Reference 6:

Period and reason for leaving 
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? 
What were your duties? 
Do you know the applicant? 

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg Sandton
Johannesburg South
Johannesburg West

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm        
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Please state your areas of availabilityBryanston, Sandton, Fourways and Randburg
Please state your accurate times of availability 

Salary expectations

Full timeR 45 per hour
Part timeR 45 per hour

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?No formal, but 9 years informal.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I love children, I am full of energy and love to be a part of a child's life.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?6 months old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Gym, watch TV, walk the dogs, go out with friends, see my boyfriend.I do advertising for my father's company - Big Country 4x4.My hobbies is dancing, swimming, scuba diving, cooking, drawing and anything else that is crafty.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?It is rewarding to see the outcome of the impact you make on their life.I love having fun with them and find caring for a child a personal achievement.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Playing with dolls, lego, swimming, playing in the garden. I love jumping castles and trampoline.Painting, drawing, play dough and baking is always fun.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?If it was medical, I would try to help the child and if that does not work, I would call a ambulance or rush the child to the emergency rooms.If it was a fire, I would grab the child and take them outside to a safe area and call the Fire department.In both situations, I would call the parents when everything is under control.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I have not really had any difficult issues.
What is your approach to discipline?Children must abide to discipline and rules. I think that firm words and 'quiet' time in their rooms is a good form of discipline and taking control over the situation.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would probably pick the child up and hold their arms to their sides and look them in the face and try to talk to them and get them to stop.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would tell them off and take away all pens and stationary for the day.Make them help to clean it off.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would bribe them with something fun to do after it is all done and assist them to make it fun. Just like my parents let me have dessert after I finished my food.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Any
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I love cooking - I have done a Thai cooking course, Scuba diving - I have a SSI open water 1 license.Dancing - I have done ballet and Modern.Swimming ( high school team), drawing (art lessons for 6 years) and just about anything crafty.I know how to sew and would describe myself as a hands on person.I am a very organised person, I make 'to do lists' constantly to make sure I complete everything on them.I minimize stress in my life by being punctual and organized.I am also very neat and meticulous and take pride in doing things right.I bond well with both children and adults and consider myself a 'Peoples person'. I also believe that I can handle new situations and environments and have done a fair amount of travelling in my life.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastScrambled eggs on toast with orange juice.
LunchA roll or sandwich with tomato =, ham, cheese and mayonnaise.
DinnerAlfredo pasta with a green salad and juice or water to drink.
SnackPro-vita with cheese or peanut butter. I also make some awesome biscuits.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Seafood, however I make sushi on a regular basis.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My parents have been married for 25 years, I have a great 18 year old sister in Matric at the moment. We are a close family, down to earth and we love our pets and the outdoors.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.