Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Romy

Personal Details

Reference # 201-23708
Name Romy
Nationality South African
Age 37
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st), Afrikaans (2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Renault Clio (2006)
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2003

Education


Secondary Education
Pinelands High School - 2000
Tertiary Education

CUPT : B.ED Foundation phase

George Whitfile Theological Training College: Theology Diploma - 1 yr course - 2000

Fashion merchandising through INTEC - 2011

First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving2007  till present, I am still working for the school (Sunlands Primary)
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I teach 27 children in Gr. R, with no assistance. Age 5 turning 6 years old
What were your duties?Teaching the Grade R class, I start with morning ring for about 30 minutes, we then do theme and group work, then indoor playtime like painting, fantasy play, lego. Then they have snack time and after snack time we do music and movement.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full time Negotiable
Part time Negotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?10 years
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I always enjoyed working with children.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?About 5 years old
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I am a teacher and I am studying as well. I also  run a blog in my spare time.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I really enjoy working the kids, I enjoy having a positive influence on them. I love teaching them. I take pride in my work. 
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I enjoy being creative, and doing fun stimulating activities with them. I am well balanced in the sense that I enjoy both creative and physical activities like playing ball.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?It depends on the emergency. If something is fractured or broken I immediately will contact the parents and then emergency services.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?A boy in my class was on the swing in the playground. He fell face first on the ground, he broke his nose. I remained calm, attempted to stop the bleeding, and we called the parents to have taken to hospital.
What is your approach to discipline?I use star charts for the kids in my class, and I use rewards. 

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would put them in a safe space where they can't hurt themselves. I find it difficult to talk to a child while they are in the middle of a tantrum, so I would let them finish, perhaps using something like distraction and then talk to them about what was wrong.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I think at that age they shouldn't be drawing on the wall. The first time I would tell them to stop and explain why we don't draw on walls. If it happened again, I would supervise the child and get them to clean up. 
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would explain the consequences. I would use removal of privileges.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?5 years old to 8 years old are my favourite groups to work with.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No, I am teacher.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No I don't.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am very compassionate, considerate and reliable.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)I can cook.
BreakfastBacon and egg and toast
LunchSandwiches
DinnerPasta bakes
SnackYoghurt and fruit, nuts, cheese cubes or Vienna's
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Stews and curry
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I have an older sister in Australia, my brother is younger than I am, he is married with 2 kids. My parents are still together. We are very close. I grew up in a stable home. My parents have very high morals and values. 

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.