Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Despina

Personal Details

Reference # 201-23653
Name Despina
Nationality Greek
Age 54
Gender Female
Marital Status Married
Languages English(1st), Afrikaans(2nd) and Greek(3rd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate? Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Geely sport 2010
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?1987

Education

Secondary Education
Parktown Girls High School - 1984
First aid TrainingYes, Valid until 2020

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2006 - March  2010. I left due to wanting more experience.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?In 2007 and 2008 there was 18 children in the class. In 2009 there was 24 children, and this year (2010), there is also 24 children in the class. The children were between the ages of 1 and 6 years old.
What were your duties?My duties are to assist the teacher with the run of the class. I assist the the children with their work; and help then with the correct pencil grip, as well as holding the scissors properly. I help with serving snacks and lunch time meals. I record everyday the children's working progress. I help them with art, baking, as well as looking after the children when they play outside. I also have regular meetings with the teachers to iron out any problems there might be. I also help with the feedback for children's report cards.This job has taught me allot and I love working with children. I find I can be patient yet strict when I have to be. Caring and loving (mothers touch) children is rewarding for both the children as well as myself. What is most rewarding is seeing their progress, and receiving smiles and hugs from them. I believe that assisting means observing more, and think that I see more than the teacher does with regards to the children working. Children need and want to be heard, so I think that this job allows me to do so.. I think that I have a gentle side, and I feel the younger children can sense the love I have to give. I enjoy this job very much and look forward to every day.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingApril 2010 - July 2013
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children
What were your duties?I pick them after school / soccer and and look after them until the parents get home.I work sometimes for this family when needed and when they have meetings.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingI started in August 2011 -  Baby-Sitting
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 child from 1 year old.
What were your duties?Caring for the baby, feeding, changing diapers, supervision and entertaining.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leaving

18 May 2010 - 8June 2012 (had to take care of my mother.)

Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children ages 5 and 3
 What were your duties?    

Looking after the children and keeping them safe.

Reading and doing various educational activities with them.

Helping and supervision with homework

Preparing meals and snacks for children

Bathing and dressing children.

Transporting children from school to home and to various outings, extra murals.

Entertaining the children.

Interaction with teachers to get feedback on behavior

Doing occasional errands for the family

Look after pet when family on holiday

  

Reference 5:

Period and reason for leaving5 march 2015 -Jan 2016
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? 
 What were your duties?    

Looking after the baby and keeping her safe.

Reading and doing various educational activities with her

Preparing meals and feeding her

Transporting children from school, home and to swimming.

Entertaining the baby and some days bath and put baby to sleep.

Interaction with teachers to get feedback on her behavior

Doing occasional errands for the family

  

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg East Rand
Johannesburg Sandton
Johannesburg South
Johannesburg West

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegative
Part timeNegative

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I got involved in child care was when I just happen to find this half day job that was close to home. I found that I have a love for working with children especially children between the ages of 3 and 5. I find myself at this stage of my life as a very relaxed person. I have heard that au pairing pays well and I could use the experience that I have learnt from as well as the first aid course I have got.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?6 months old.
Have you had any children of your own?2 grown up kids daughter - 1989 and a son - 1991
What activities are you involved in?Activities I am involved in are spending time with family and friends, reading, gardening, and listening to music.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?In my spare time, I drive a child home after school, then I take and fetch my daughter from University. I also enjoy read books, and going for walks.
What are your interests?I don't have many interests, but I do enjoy making a healthy meal for my children, as well as spending time with them in the afternoon. Time gardening and housework
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?The love, smiles,hugs, the progress and to see the confidence grown and the child mature. Working with children can be so rewarding for me.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Activities I enjoy doing with children is teaching and helping them with the correct pencil grip, reading them stories, backing, with them, play education games with them, singing songs with them (even though I cant sing well).
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?In case of an emergency I would stay calm as well as keep the child calm. I would handle the situation appropriately and defiantly call the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?The most difficult situation I have ever encountered when a child was very rude  to me and would kick and scratch me. I dealt with the situation by walking away and staying calm. At times I would hold his hands for the amount of minutes of his age (ex: if they 3 years old, then I would hold them for 3 minutes), when I held his hands I told him that it is not nice to kick and scratch and its not nice behaviour. If he had carried on, I would hold his hands for another 3 minutes.
What is your approach to discipline?My approach to discipline is according to my peaceful nature, so I always talk first. Then I take control and stay firm, and if punishment is in order, then there is time out/naughty corner (the amount of minutes is according to their age) to think about their behaviour. They must understand that they must show respect for each other.  If they bite, hit, scratch then it´s more and they apologies to the person who they hurt.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?If a 2 year old was throwing a tantrum, I would go down to child's level and ask what´s the matter, and would try to calm child down to either stop crying or solve the situation. If it´s a small problem, I would discuss the situation with the child and allow the child to explain. If not I would think of an appropriate discipline for the child to learn from what happened..
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?If a 5 year old was drawing on a wall, I would ask the child to explain to me where we are suppose to draw, and write? Why they mustn't draw on walls? I would then make the child get a cloth and clean the mess they made as punishment.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?If an 8 year old was refusing to do their homework, I would go down to the child's level and try find out why the child doesn't want to do their homework and then work from their.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable working with 2-6 year old children.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, I still work for Rainbow World.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?Yes I have a daughter who is nearly 21 years old, and a son who is nearly 19 years old.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I would say at this stage of my life I am a calm, quiet person who is patient and loves life and children. I find that I stay the same everyday, and feel I can provide stability to children.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes I can cook.
BreakfastJungle oats, eggs, toast
LunchSpaghetti bolognaise
DinnerBeef stew, vegetables, pasta (but depends on family)
SnackSandwich or fruit salad
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No there isn't anything that I am uncomfortable cooking.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.I'm have been happily married to my husband for 24 years. We have two kids, my daughter is almost 21 years old, and my son is now 19 years old. My daughter is in her 3rd year at  University and is very bright, hard working and a real pleasure. My son is taking a gap year at the moment as  he is undecided on what career path he wants to go on. I'm going to send him to the Greek army for 3 months soon. I prefer to do a morning job in Au pairing so that I can still have time for my own family - so that I can cook for them, chat with them as well as support them. I also want to help the, financially and think this will help me to do so. Being there for my family as well as supporting them  is very important to me. My husband is great to all of us and is very supportive to us all. All my relatives, and family including my dad all live in Greece, except for my mother who lives here with us. My parents have been divorced now for 21 years. My mother is an amazing role model to us and my children. My mother is very positive and loves life. My mother had 3 children, and I am the middle child. I have a sister who is 2 years older than me, and my brother is 1 years younger than me. My mother is currently working part time as a rep. 

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.