Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Hester Gertruida

Personal Details

Reference # 201-2355
Name Hester Gertruida
Nationality South African
Age 57
Gender Female
Marital Status Divorced
Languages English and Afrikaans

Requirements

Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
Are you in good health?Yes
Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)BMW 320i 1989
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?25 years

Education

Secondary EducationHBC
Tertiary EducationHome Based Care course.
First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving2008-2009 children outgrew Au-pair (His wife passed away and he needed the extra help in the house)
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?Girl 17 boy 15 girl 15 girl 15 ( Melissa, Nicole, Jarred and Tamara )
What were your duties?Cooking driving cleaning general support, Not so much cleaning, but if the nanny was not there I would assist with cleaning up, Shopping general duties.
Your comments on the experience with this positionI enjoyed learning a new religion, their outlook on life and their eating habits. I use my own initiative. I could basically do what I wanted to do, I would do some sewing for the kids as well if their things needed some touching up. I could cope well with their religion they were Jewish. I learn allot i.e for setting the table their way types of food and how to eat it. This was a great family to work for. 

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 1998 - January 2000 (I closed my Creche) Hester's Creche had 15 children ranging from 0 - 3 years , boys and girls 
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?Andre Geldenhuys 4 months old
What were your duties?Feeding, changing nappies, doing little projects, painting, playing fun activities, makes sure he gets his medication when he had to. Phone the doctor or parents if he was sick. Had a daily routine book, where I would write in everything what happened during the day
  

Reference 3:


Reference 4:


Reference 5:


Reference 6:


Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula
West Coast

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?Many years ago I helped a friend out in a creche, then started my own as I adore looking after kids.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?6 weeks old.
What activities are you involved in?Reading, taking walks and my church.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Read, take walks and look after my grandchildren.
What are your interests?Watching the rugby and cricket, reading and going to church.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?They love you unconditionally and to watch their progress as they grow up and teaching them.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Depending on their age, taking them to the park or on outings, reading to them, teaching them nursery rhymes, songs and body movements and little projects.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Depending on the situation, use my first aid training, get medical help then phone parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?A child fell and got a big gash in his forehead so I stopped the bleeding as much as I could by putting pressure on the wound and calming him down at the same time then went for medical help, then phoned his parents.
What is your approach to discipline?Depending on the child's personality as no child is the same. Remove child from the object explaining why the situation is dangerous or wrong.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would kneel down to his/her level and speak to them calmly distracting them from what is upsetting them.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?In a calm way explain to them that what they are doing is wrong and inspire them to clean it themselves and supervising them and give them paper for that activity.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I will make the homework fun and will bribe them into doing a fun activity after they finish their homework.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Any age group.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?Yes two ages 20 and 23 and 2 grandchildren ages 16months and 5 years old.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a loyal, honest, responsible, trustworthy, got lots of patience and reliable person who adores working with children.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastCereal or oats with honey and cut up fruit.
LunchSandwiches, fish fingers or hot dogs. 
DinnerMac and Cheese or cottage pie.
SnackYogurt, fresh fruit and juice.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.My parents past away. Brothers and sisters all happily married with children and grand children. Both my children matriculated. My daughter is doing IT and my son is a driver for a gardening service company and is also doing IT in his spare time.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.