Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Lydia

Personal Details

Reference # 201-23523
Name Lydia
Nationality South African
Age 31
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages Afrikaans (1st), English (2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes, regularly serviced
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)VW Golf 2009 5 door
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
If yes, please describe the accident and when it happened 
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2006

Education

Have you completed matricYes
Where did you attend high schoolBloemhof Meisies Skool Stellenbosch 2006
What was your pass rate for Matric60%
Have you completed any other studies?If yes, what courses are you busy with or have you completed?Yes, I am busy finishing my Early Childhood Development Diploma through Boland College. I started 2009 to 2011.  ( 3 yr course).
First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2010- current Still assisting
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?4 Children, ages 2, 4, 6 and 7 years old. The one boy one with special needs, he has problems with cross motor and fine motor skills.
What were your duties?I get to the children at 2pm. I am responsible for all of the children. I assist with homework, I do an hour with the oldest child, then about 30 minutes with the second youngest. I then spend time with the 4 yr old who has special needs requirements. We then play and enjoy games together until the parents get home.
Do you know the applicant?Yes

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingMarch 2009 till  present ( still helping out occasionally)
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?4 children, 6yrs -11 years, 3 girls ( including twins) and 1 boy, 
What were your duties?Babysitting and cooking. I also assist at bath time and occasionally I need to help with lifting in the afternoons and take them on outings.
Do you know the applicant?Yes

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingMarch 2011 till present Still working
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children, 5 and 8, 1 boy and 1 girl.
What were your duties?I go to their home, and assist with the children's homework. I make them snacks and then I keep them busy for the afternoon for 3 hours every day. They are not allowed to watch tv so it can be challenging sometimes. 
Do you know the applicant?Yes

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2012 - Current
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?38 Children, 5-6 years old. 
What were your duties?I am a Grade R teacher
Do you know the applicant? 

Reference 5:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2012 - Current
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?18 Children, 7-12 years old.
What were your duties?I am a Hostel Matron, helping with dressing the children, making of beds, food, homework, outside activities, getting ready for bed and Bible Study.
Do you know the applicant? 

Reference 6:

Period and reason for leaving 
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? 
What were your duties? 
Do you know the applicant? 

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
False Bay
Stellenbosch

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeR6000
Part timeR50 per hour

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have been caring for children since 2009.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?In matric I wanted to take the ECD course and it had always been a dream of mine to be a teacher. By the time I applied I the class was full so I did 2 years on a tourism course but decided that I still wanted to do the ECD course. I started studying Early Childhood Development and from there I developed a love for working with children, teaching them something has become my passion.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for? 2 years old
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?During my weekends I usually visit our farm as I love horse riding but in my spare time I love to exercise. I play soccer. I come from a farm so I love nature and being outdoors or with animals.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life? Looking after them, teaching them and exploring the world with them again. I enjoy doing activities with them and learning with them.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children? I am very active so I like to play outside and do outdoor activities.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?If the child’s life is in jeopardy I will phone for an ambulance or I will phone the parent if it is not life threatening.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it? I had 2 boys over at my house which is not very child friendly. The one was 6 months and the other was 2 years old. I found it difficult to keep them both away from the pool, the stairs, the dogs etc at our house. If the one went one way I had to take the other with me. It was hard but I handled it. I had them at my house for a week in the mornings.
What is your approach to discipline? I grew up in a very strict household. I feel this is good. I ask the parents what their rules are and I stick to that. If a child disobeys, I take it up with them immediately.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum? I will check what is wrong in the first place. I would wait to explain to the child why acting in that way will not work in the future.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall? I will ask why he is doing it in the first place. Explain why he shouldn't do it in the first place and explain he needs to clean it and assist him to do so.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework? I have had this experience. I would motivate the child in a positive way and explain the long term benefits of doing homework. I would explain that I also did not want to do it at his age and am glad I did. I would try to make it fun.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with? I am comfortable with any age after a child is out of diapers to around gr.7.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones? Yes, I am a Grade R teacher at Hompie Kadompie and a Hostel Matron at Huis Sterrie Marais.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they? No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself? I am outgoing, I don't have hangups, I am friendly and active. I enjoy being busy.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack) Yes
Breakfast Eggs and toast
Lunch Macaroni or hot dogs
Dinner Spaghetti, bolognaise or fish finger and veggies
Snack Fruit and juice or a smoothie
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking? I can make anything if I have a recipe. I enjoying being creative with food.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I am the oldest of 5 children. We are all outgoing and sporty.  We enjoy being on the farm together going horse riding etc.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.