Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Aliya Kylie

Personal Details

Reference # 201-23489
Name Aliya Kylie
Nationality South African
Age 30
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st), Afrikaans(2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes, regularly serviced
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Ford Fiesta 2013
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2011

Education

Secondary EducationJeppe High School for Girls - 2006
Tertiary Education

Boston Business College- Marketing Management -2012

BEd degree: UJ ( I could not continue  due to financial issues) -2007

First aid TrainingCompleting a course soon

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2010 until present. Still teach at the school and do reception work at the school when I am needed.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?20 to 24 children at a time,mainly worked with the toddlers of the ages 18 months to 3 years. I had one assistant who would change diapers, and clean the tables, get everything ready for the day, etc. 
What were your duties?I needed to start at 7h30am. I would stay to 13h30. I would do morning circle. Reading , show and tell, story time, puzzles, playing games, singing songs. Watching the children,teaching the children, overseeing activities and answering the phone when necessary.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingMay 2012 to November 2013
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children aged 5 years and 13 years old. 
What were your duties?I had to supervise homework with the 13 year old and re-teach her work that she did not understand. With the 5 year old I supervised activities and assisted with motor skill such as painting, colouring, writing,doing puzzles, and swimming. I also made lunch for them to and from friends houses and any external activities
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg East Rand
Johannesburg Sandton

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm        
12pm-6pm        
6pm-6am        

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have been involved in childcare professionally since 2010.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I was originally studying to be a teacher so I have always been interested in children,last year in 2010 I started working at Edenvale private nursery school on a part time basis and I love it. I am interested in au pairing and baby sitting because I am currently studying and I need extra income.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?16 months
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I enjoy gardening and reading,also I enjoy going to Kung Fu and doing relaxing activities such as swimming and playing board games and any other activities that are introduced to me.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?Seeing them blossom and grow,like a flower does. They are delicate and friendly and they have lots to learn that Id love to teach.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Swimming,teaching,playing board games,drawing,painting,making things,any activities.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would immediately phone the parents or emergency number that is given to me to contact and take the child to the hospital or phone 911 for an ambulance in severe cases
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I was looking after my sister when her finger got cut off in a door slamming because of the wind blowing. I immediately put pressure on the wound and phoned my parents to let them know what had happened. I was lucky to have had doctors rooms on the floor below and rushed her to the doctor. My parents arrived and took the child to the hospital.
What is your approach to discipline?I don't believe in shouting at children,I feel the best way of discipline is:´ for every action there is a reaction´ explaining to them what they have done wrong,and what the consequences will be for their actions. I will also let the parents know what the child did wrong and consult them before making any decisions on how to deal with the situation. However discipline depends on what age you are at and it is important for me to show children that respect is most important and an understanding amongst each other is also important and teaching the children what is right from wrong.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would say in a firm but friendly tone of voice" this is not the way to behave,and if you continue to scream and shout I will not listen to you,so please stop shouting and together lets find out what it is that you want or need"
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would say ´ please stop drawing on the wall as this is not the right thing to do and your parents will be very upset,l ets wash this up together and get some nice paper so that you can show your mommy/daddy what beautiful work you have done´
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I'd say " ... why don't you want to do your homework?" I would find out the reason and come up with a solution,its not easy to say how one will deal with this kind of situation until confronted with it as all children are different and don't like to do homework for different reasons. None the less, I would offer a fun activity or reward once they have completed their homework effeciently.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?2 years to 17 years old
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes on a part time basis I still work for Edenvale private nursery school in the mornings when I am needed.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a Friendly person whom is very bubbly,I am diligent and conscientious and easy to get along with. I am full of energy and I love learning new things and coming up with new ideas.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastEggs on toast,fried bacon and tomato and mushrooms. as an alternative yoghurt and muesli.
LunchSpaghetti bolognaise,chicken and mayonnaise sandwiches.
DinnerRoast Chicken/lamb and potatoes,salad and vegetables.
SnackTuna mayonnaise on cracker bread,salad or hot dogs.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I Come from a family where I am the eldest of 4 girls,I am very close with my family members such as my grandmother and father. My sisters are only my half sisters but I am extremely close with all of them even though our ages are so different.I get along well with my mother and I am good friends with my aunt whom is also a school teacher and her daughter my cousin. We are a family with differences as most are but we love each other very much and all get along.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.