Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Melissa

Personal Details

Reference # 201-23425
Name Melissa
Nationality South African
Age 30
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st), Afrikaans ( basic),

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?  Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes, regularly serviced
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Toyota Yaris, 2007 model
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2007

Education

Secondary EducationHerschel School for Girls (2007)
Tertiary Education
BA Degree in Fashion Design from FEDISA. 2008- end 2010 (3 yr degree)
First aid TrainingYes, paediatric course valid 2013.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI volunteered at Red Cross Children´s Hospital in ward E1 and I now volunteer at St Joseph´s Home for Children, where Jane Booth was my contact for. I am still currently volunteering at the home. I started last year in September 2010 and am still volunteering.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I volunteer with any number of children from groups of 10-40 children. They range from the ages of 2 months to 18 years old and they are boys/girls.
What were your duties?I do not have duties as a volunteer but I pride myself on helping where I can whether it be with mealtimes, activities with the children and other general things. I change diaper s, feed them, and bathing with the younger kids. We play games and do reading. I assist in organising the parties. When working with the older kids, we do fun things like paint nails and watch movies or put on make up. I enjoy helping and putting a a smile on the faces of these kids.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm  
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?One year and 2 months of volunteering at St. Joseph's Home for Children.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I got involved through a family friend who is a sister at the Red Cross Children's Hospital. She got me involved at St Joseph's Home for Children. I adore children and I am looking to gain more experience in childcare. I am hoping to teach English in Korea at a later stage.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?I have worked with children from 1 years old and up.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I am a avid Horse rider and I love to cook and especially bake. I play the keyboard and love everything to do with fashion. I enjoy the outdoors and spend a lot of my time at the children's home over weekends. I am currently working at the painted door design company and will be finishing in December. My main hobbies are horse riding and baking, which are 2 passions of mine.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?

I love children's sense of fun and never ending energy. I think they are amazing to work with and I like to see them grow into individuals and that I can play a part in that and helping children become who they are and giving them new experiences.

What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I enjoy any outdoor activities as I think it is important to be active and healthy. I also think it is important to do a variety of activities both educational and fun  to keep an active mind and also to just enjoy things.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I have recently completed a basic First Aid course. Depending on the situation, I would act accordingly with what I have been taught and immediately phone the necessary people, being the emergency services and parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?While I was volunteering, I had one of the small children choke on a marshmallow. I had not yet done first aid at the time. I immediately "Scooped" it out of her mouth and I was lucky enough to get it out quickly and did not need to do anything else. In the moment I just did what needed to be done before anything worse happened.
What is your approach to discipline?I think that it is ultimately up to the parents and would follow accordingly to what they wanted.I do think that it is important to have some sort of discipline in place, but I would follow the guidelines of the parents.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would let the child calm down first. If they do not calm down I would use the quiet chair or step and use that as a breather.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would immediately say that what they are doing is wrong and take away the drawing utensils and ask them why they did it.I would then also use the quiet chair / step and let them think about what they did and hopefully realised that it was wrong.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would sit down with them and explain the importance of homework and try and make a little fun out of it so they can see it as a fun activity rather than school work.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I feel most comfortable with children from the age of 3 - 12 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No, I only volunteer every weekend.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a fun loving energetic young girl.I have a passion for life and I am committed to everything I do. I am optimistic and pride myself on being responsible and reliable. I love and adore children and they bring me a wonderful sense of joy.I love to laugh and just enjoy life and live in the moment. I love experiencing new things and ways of life.I think it is important to broaden your horizons and make the most out of life.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastBreakfast is the most important meal of the day and anything healthy goes.Scrambled or boiled eggs, peanut butter on whole wheat toast, cereal or anything with fruit.
LunchA healthy and delicious sarmie, tuna / chicken and mayonnaise with lettuce and tomato. A piece of fruit or something yummy like peanuts, a home made muffin or something sweet.
DinnerA delicious and nutritious meal. Either a piece of chicken / fish or red meat with lots of veggies and a baked potato or rice or home made wedges.Or something with a salad. I enjoy making a  variety of dishes and enjoy getting them to try new things. Perhaps we could have some fun and do food from different cultures.
SnackAny fruit, pro-vita with cottage cheese, boiled eggs, yoghurt drinks and home made goodies.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I am not hugely experienced with red meat, but otherwise I don't mind anything else.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I live with my mom and stepfather while my dad lives in Johannesburg. We are very close and take any chance to see each other. My parents has been divorced since I was 6 years old, so it never really had a huge effect on me. My parents have a good relationship and we spend most Christmas's together in Cape Town. I have a older sister and 2 step brothers. We have good relationships and get along very well.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.