Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Marlize

Personal Details

Reference # 201-23226
Name Marlize
Nationality South African
Age 37
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages Afrikaans (1st), English(1st), Basic German (2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes, it is regularly serviced
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Chicco Golf 2001
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?Yes
If yes, please describe the accident and when it happenedI was a 2nd year in University, in 2003 We had been practicing non-stop for serenade week and I had been studying and waitressing as well. I had not been sleeping and drove home at 3 in the morning. I fell asleep behind the wheel and drove into a lamppost. That kin of situation has never occurred again and it will also not happen again.
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2000

Education

Have you completed matricYes
Where did you attend high schoolHoer Volkskool Potchefstroom 2000
What was your pass rate for Matric1200 -1439 Category M
Have you completed any other studies?If yes, what courses are you busy with or have you completed?

BA Communications & Psychology :Northwest university: 2007

Estate Agents Board exam: September 2007: Board of Estate agents

TESOL: English second language teaching course certificate specializing in teaching small children.

First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingMay 2010- June 2011. 1 year, My contract expired. It was time to come home.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?About 52 children, Ages 2-12 Male and female.
What were your duties?There was an average of 5 to 12 children in a class. I started at 8h30 am and do preparations for the classes for the days, making worksheets etc. I would start with my first class and classes were around 30 to 45 minutes. I always home room teacher to the 6 years old, after lunch I did another 3 classes with the kinder garden children. Then I would Teaching English to the elementary school children until around 6pm. I was responsible for lesson planning, arts and crafts activities, teaching, marking,writing  school reports, planning tests, planning events  and outings, caring for the  Kindergarten and elementary school children.It was fabulous, I will never regret the decision to go to Korea. I worked with some wonderful. I had a great relationships with everyone and miss the children dearly.
Do you know the applicant?Yes

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingJune 2008- March 2010. 20 months. I got acute double Pneumonia, went to hospital for 3 weeks and the director of the school decided it would be better for my health to return to South Africa.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I taught a class of 7-year old boys and girls. 12 children. Also about 50 children aged 6-13.
What were your duties?Teaching English to the 7 year old class in the mornings. Teaching all subjects in English.I taught basic English, vocabularly reading phonics, maths science, art, music, PE, and occasionally we also did cooking lessons. Lesson planning, delivery of lessons, testing, writing reports etc.  In the afternoons I had 4 classes for children age from 6 to 13 years old. I taught creative writing, writing, vocabulary etc. I also planned fun activities for them and once a month we had a class party.
Do you know the applicant? 

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingDecember 2000 to December 2001. 1 year,My visa expired. I came home to study. I am still in contact with all of the kids.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?3 children. 2 girls (6 & 12) 1 boy (7)
What were your duties?Live in position: I started at 6h30 , get them ready, then serve breakfast. Then at 11am the youngest came home and I made lunch, afterwards, I would clean the kitchen, the older two would come home and I would assist with homework. I would then take them to extra murals and organised their play dates. I would finish at around 5 to 6pm. Over vacations I worked longer hours. I would also do babysitting occasionally.
Do you know the applicant?Yes

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leaving 
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? 
What were your duties? 
Do you know the applicant? 

Reference 5:

Period and reason for leaving 
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? 
What were your duties? 
Do you know the applicant? 

Reference 6:

Period and reason for leaving 
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? 
What were your duties? 
Do you know the applicant? 

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Full timeR7000 +
Part timeR4000+

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?1 year of Au Pairing, 3 years of teaching Various short periods of children´s camps and babysitting
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I took a gap year after school. That was my first experience of child care. I was very young then and did not really know what I wanted from life. My 3 years in Korea made me realize that I want to work with children for the rest of my life. I am not qualified to teach, but I am currently enrolling to do my PGCE part time. I love working with children and the experience would be very valuable. Being able to do it would also make it more convenient for me to earn an income while I study.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?3 years old
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I am currently a waitress. In my spare time I like reading, jogging, scrap booking, crafting, hiking, travelling and spending time with friends.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I like learning from them. Kids are amazing creatures with a lot of lessons built into them. I also really enjoy teaching children things and seeing them actually "getting" it. Children are the leaders and world-changers of the future, it makes me happy to know that I can play a small role in shaping that future leader.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Drawing, Colouring, Reading, Telling stories, Playing games, Songs and dances, Educational. activities.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Call relevant emergency services, call the parents and then my actions would depend on the type of emergency. Stay calm. Keep the children calm and safe.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I have never had to deal with a difficult situation, apart from the occasional snot, vomit and wetting their pants.
What is your approach to discipline?I believe in rewarding good behaviour and taking away for bad behaviour. I have a sticker system that works really well. I also believe that when a child is disciplined, they should know why they are in trouble. I also do not want to work against the parents, so I prefer to consult with them and find out how they discipline their children and change my structures according to it.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Fall on the floor and join them. It takes their attention away from it.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would tell the child that what they did was wrong and take away the crayons. I would also demonstrate to them that drawing on paper is okay, but not on walls. Then take away a sticker. Should the child show me later on that they have drawn a picture on paper, showing that they realize the difference now, a sticker will be given.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Ask nicely, then, once again use stickers. For homework done, stickers will be given. For homework not done, stickers will be taken away. Or activities will be cancelled.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with? From 2 to 12 year old's
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?None
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a people´s person. I love people and learning about cultures and people´s lives. I am an extrovert, positive and easy-going. I enjoy nature and exploring things. I am an only child and have had to work hard to learn that life is not all about me. I have a cat that I brought over from Korea. She is currently staying with my parents in Potchefstroom and I miss her terribly!!
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastOats with honey and fruit.
LunchVeggie & Chicken pasta
DinnerA tuna mayonnaise sandwich with lettuce, tomato and cucumber
SnackFruit, dried fruit, crackers with cheese, yoghurt.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?None
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I am an only child. My parents live in Potchefstroom and I adore them. They are still married and I have a fantastic relationship with both of them. My mother has been my biggest support through all of my life and even though she does not like all of my decisions, she always tells me that she is proud of me and believes in me. I am 100% like my dad, which has led to bit of conflict through my life, but he is always there for me if I need advice or support. My parents are amazing and I love them dearly!

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.