Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Magna

Personal Details

Reference # 201-23094
Name Magna
Nationality South African
Age 28
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st), Zulu (1st), Basic Afrikaans (2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes, regularly serviced
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Opel Corsa 2007 5 door
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?May 2011

Education

Secondary Education
Uplands College - 2008
Tertiary EducationWITS University -Studying psychology, international relations and law BA Law,
First aid TrainingYes, valid 2014

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving2009, January to December. I left because I enrolled at the University of the Witwatersrand in 2010.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 Children, one boy and one girl (age 10 old and 4 years old)
What were your duties?I got in at 7am, I would take them with the driver and would pack their lunch. I would then pick them up at about 2pm, We would play and do activities. We did a lot of reading, playing outside, swimming etc. I also assisted the older child with his homework.  I prepared snacks for them  and dinner. I would also do grocery shopping as well from time to time. The mom got home at about 7pm. I still see them occasionally.I got on very well with the family and loved working with them.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg Sandton

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm            
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am          

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm            
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?1 year
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I am interested in au pairing because I have a passion for children. I thoroughly enjoy their company and love to gain experience.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?New born ( family related)
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?During my spare time I am usually studying, however, I enjoy keeping physically active and reading novels.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I love the joy that children are able to bring to my life. through hearing their stories and seeing them smile. providing a child with emotional security is very fulfilling
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Playing, swimming, watching tv and reading books.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would first call 082 911 for the netcare ambulance, then I would call the infants/ childs parents o inform them about the emergency. whilst waiting for the ambulance I would cater to the child, for example, bandage or strap them according to the injury and as I learnt on my first aid course.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?The most difficult situation I have encountered would be when a child throws a tantrum. However, I handle it with patience and tell the child that he or she is wrong and WHY his or her actions are wrong.
What is your approach to discipline?I believe in setting reasonable rules and guidelines that are in the best interests of the child.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would I would tell them that they are wrong by throwing a tantrum and tell them why it s that the situation had to go the way it did.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would tell them that what they are doing is wrong and why it is wrong. In addition, I would tell them the consequences of writing on the wall if they had to repeat their actions
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would tell them that if they do their work they will receive a treat. I am a firm believer in behaviour being shaped by reinforcement and reward.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Newborns to teen years.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No, I do not.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No, I do not.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I would describe myself as very reliable and consistent. I am passionate about my work and energetic. I'm responsible and dedicated. In addition, I am willing to make any sacrifice that would benefit another individual. i don't start things without finishing it. I'm patient and loving.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastEgg, Bacon, toast and vienna with a fried tomato
LunchLasagne with garlic bread and a greek salad
Dinnerrice, grilled chicken and steamed vegetables
Snacka toasty with fruit juice
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?N/a
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My mom is in Swaziland. I am the second of three children. My brother is 17 years old and my sister is 23, doing her Masters in Portugal. We are a very close family and spend most of our time together during holidays because we are literally countries apart.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.