Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Melissa

Personal Details

Reference # 201-23044
Name Melissa
Nationality South African
Age 35
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages Afrikaans (1st) English (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate? Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes, serviced regularly
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)1999 Daihatsu Cuore (5 door)
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?23/09/2003

Education

Secondary Education
Groote Schuur High School - 2002
Tertiary Education
Mary Poppins au pair College: Professional au pair certificate - distinction
First aid TrainingI have completed a course in 2003. This expired sometime ago and I need to redo the course.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingMarch 2004 - November 2009, I was no longer needed to assist.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 twin boys - 2 months old, 1 girl - 3 years old
What were your duties?I got there at 7am, then the twins woke up. I would feed them and change their nappies. The older little girl went to playschool, I would feed them, play with them, I took them to moms and tots classes. In the afternoon they would have a nap and then we went out or played outdoors in the afternoon.  I sometimes prepared dinners for the family. Sometimes the older girl was home from 1pm , or she would come home with her mom at about 4pm. When they were older I would do the lifting and took them to extra murals. I assisted in potty training the kids. It was a good relationship, we all got on very well and are still in touch. I was part of the family and I enjoyed it thoroughly. 
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingMay 2004- December 2006
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Two children age 2 months and 2 years old when I started. 
What were your duties?Cousins of the Thorn family. When I wasn't required to assist with Heather's children I assisted the Marcs. My main responsibility was to the 2 month old. I did diaper changes, feeding, food prep and feeding. Playing and provision of age appropriate stimulation, reading etc.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leaving 
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? 
What were your duties? 
Do you know the applicant? 

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?8 Years
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I started looking after my cousins daughter and decided to do a course in child care. That is where my love for children started. I enjoy playing with them and helping them with new things.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?2 months old twins
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I like to make earrings and necklaces. horse riding and being outdoors.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?Seeing them learn new things an how they experience life and to just have fun.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Painting , drawing, baking, building and reading.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Depending on situation, first assess the situation, if minor treat the wound , in serious situation, I would stabilize the child and then take the child to hospital  or call emergency services and then phone the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Fortunately I have not been in a difficult situation just minor scrapes. I cleaned the wound and put on antiseptic cream and a plaster.
What is your approach to discipline?I believe if you give the child a good explanation of why something is wrong or dangerous they are willing to listen and want to learn.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would first try to distract the child, once they have calmed down I would chat to the child about why they had the tantrum and provide an explanation or find a way to not let the situation reoccur. 
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would explain why one can't write on a wall,I would show them where to find the materials that should be used for drawing are kept. I would explain that if it happened again there would be a punishment like time out or they would need to clean the wall. 
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would sit and do the homework with them, I would try to make it fun. Incorporating other materials like fruit or dice or spaghetti to assist in math, for example.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?My favourite age is 0-5 years old but I am comfortable with all ages.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am hard working, loyal and trustworthy and do not quit easily. I am very organized and a quick learner. I love working with children and animals and being outdoors
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastOats
LunchOmelet with cheese and tomato
DinnerStir-fried beef in noodle baskets
SnackDroe wors
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No, if I have a recipe to work with I can make anything.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My mother is a house wife and lives on a small holding, my younger sister is married and lives in Worcester and is a pharmacist assistant.We all get along very well. My father passed away in February 2006.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.