Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Jamie

Personal Details

Reference # 201-23025
Name Jamie
Nationality South African
Age 28
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English ( 1st) and Afrikaans (1st) German(2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes, regularly serviced
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Renault Clio 3, 1.4, 2008
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2009

Education

Secondary education
Unity Christian Campus (now called Winelands Academy) - 2008 (Bothasig)
Tertiary Education

SANTS - Certificate in early childhood development - 2010

Institute for Play Therapy and Training - Certificate in play therapy -2013

University of South Africa - Bachelors degree in education - 2011 - 2014

University of the Western Cape - Honours degree in educational  psychology 2015 - 2016

Stellenbosch University - Masters degree in educational psychology  (currently busy completing it in 2019)

First aid TrainingYes,

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingMay 2009 till December 2010. I completed my studies and needed to earn more money as creche teachers don´t get paid much.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Tinkerbell Educare: Babies from 3 months till children aged 12 years. I worked with all the age groups, boys and girls.
What were your duties?

I started in the baby room with 3-18 month old babies,from 7h30 to 5pm and at a later stage until 6pm. I then moved on to teach the 2-3 year old class and occasionally the older children also, e.g. in the event of an absent teacher.  I did potty training, changing diapers, feeding, bottles,  I had numeracy , outside playtime, supervising art classes, planning classes, outings, holiday programmes, singing, fine motor skill development. 

  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2011 till July 2011. I brought a car, and needed to earn more to pay for it. 
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?4 children. Boys aged 7, 5 and 3 and little girl of 1 year.
What were your duties?I would start early, make breakfast, and pack their lunch boxes, get them ready for school etc. The mom, took them to school and I entertained the little one for the morning, I did what I did when I was teaching, so I was putting together a learning programme. By the time I left I had taught her so much that at 20 months old she was speaking in full sentences. Preparing children´s meals, occasional home schooling, planning activities for school holidays and playing with and supervising children.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leaving2012 – present
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? 
What were your duties?Teaching foreign children English,
Afrikaans and German.

  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
West Coast

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am  

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?5 years (I started babysitting at the age of 15 and teaching at the age of 18)
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I always loved being with children and when I left school I was offered the position of teaching assistant at Buzy Beez Playschool and took it immediately. I love meeting new children and getting to know them, I really enjoy playing with them and teaching.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?Newborn
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I am an au pair, I babysit a few times a month. I enjoy being active, going to gym and hiking. I also enjoy photography and use my photos to make movies. I mostly study in my spare time.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?The influence that adults have on children is huge, I like the fact that I can be such a strong influence to the children I look after and therefore try to be the most positive example I can. The children I already babysit get excited when their parents tell them I am coming, that means the world to me.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Anything the child enjoys doing. Craft activities, drawing and painting, the 3 boys I au paired for used to enjoy obstacle courses and playing cricket and soccer with me.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Depending on the nature of the emergency, call for help on 10177 and apply CPR till help arrives. If possible transport the child to hospital myself to save time (if it is possible to move the child, if there are no possible neck injures, etc)
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?A 3 year old boy fell and bumped his head on the metal edge of a bathroom door while we were at the local primary school for concert practice, the cut was very deep and would not stop bleeding. I applied pressure to his cut with bandages and rushed him to hospital. His parents met us there. It was heartbreaking to see this little boy so scared and in so much pain, he had 6 stitches and did not come to school for a week.
What is your approach to discipline?There is a difference between punishment and discipline, and I don´t believe in punishment. I use time out as discipline, and a reward and positive reinforcement system.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I ignore tantrums, the child soon learns to stop the behaviour when they see they are not getting a reaction. I let the child sit somewhere safe and still in my sight till the tantrum is over and once they have calmed down I talk to them gently and explain the reason for them not being able to have what they want. I had 26 2 year old children in my class and this method worked wonders.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Explain to the child that walls are not made to draw on and let him help with cleaning it up. Give him some paper and explain to him that paper is where he is allowed to draw but drawing on walls is unacceptable.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would be very firm with the child and explain to him that it is now time to do his homework and promise him a treat once he has completed it. I would try to find out his reason for not wanting to do it and offer him assistance with it and try make it as fun as possible.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?All ages groups
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Almost all of them, there is no one else they trust with their children.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?Not yet
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am very organised and like to be prepared and know what to expect for everything in life. I am very determined and stick to al the goals I set myself. I am also very honest and hard working, willing to help others.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
Breakfasteggs, bacon, French toast, pancakes
Lunchfish fingers and potato wedges
Dinnerchicken, potatoes, rice, veggies
Snackfruit, yoghurt, provitas
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Food that is too time consuming to make
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My mother passed away when I was 6 and I was raised by my father and au pairs. My dad remarried when I was 9 and had a baby with his new wife, my younger sister who is now almost 10 years old. I also have an older brother and sister from my mothers previous marriage. My brother is engaged and they are expecting a baby in November, my sister is recently divorced and has 3 children, a boy of 12 and twin girls of 11.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.