Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Nancy

Personal Details

Reference # 201-22680
Name Nancy
Nationality Zimbabwean
Age 44
Gender Female
Marital Status Divorced
Languages English, shona (1st), zulu

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes (expired)
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)HYUNDAI Elantra 1997
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2011 June

Education

Secondary Education
Did my O Levels in Seke 1 High school (Zimbabwe)
Tertiary Education
Intec College - Early Childhood Development Level 4 Certificate
First aid TrainingYes, I have completed a course in 2006, I have to renew it.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving2005-2011 Employers emigrated to Australia
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 boy from four months and evenutally twins from birth.
What were your duties?I preparing their bottle and food. I played with them and teaching finger-painting and drawing. I helped potty-training with all the children.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving August 2011 to April 2012. The twins went to nursery school and I was no longer needed.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? 16 month old twins and a 3 year old boy.
What were your duties? My duties included: feeding, playing with them, sorting out their clothes, putting them to sleep and taking care of them at their home from 7am to 5pm. I also occasional helped the older boy who was 3.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leaving1 September 2012 to 31 August 2013, the children were put into daycare.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?24 months old
What were your duties?Food preparation,bottle sterilization and formula measurement, feeding, bathing,following a schedule of activites from play to sleep, feeding, etc, Ensuring the children's equipment, clothes,toys,cots,etc were alwasy clean and orderly. Assisting with night nursing, general tidying of the kitchen, accompanying the children on outings when required and driving them to their grandparents on occasion. 
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg West

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm  
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am  

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm      
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?10
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?Passion for children. I like working for children. 
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?From birth. They were twins.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I am studying a degree in education.I stay with my family, my two sons. I help my children with school work.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I like stimulating the minds of the children.I like to teach them to read.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I enjoy doing creative activities, singing to them and story telling, collage and displaying our artwork.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Try to help the child but if it is beyond my control I will phone the parents and then rush them to the hospital.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?The child had an allergic reaction from peanut butter. I asked the neighbour to take us to the doctor because I didn't have a car at that time. The neighbor told me that it was an allergic reaction and we gave him something to help with the swelling. The mother took him to the doctor when she got home.Also teething is especially difficult because there is little you can do to help.
What is your approach to discipline?It depends on the age. But generally I use the naughty corner and I will give them a time out for a number of minutes depending on their age. Then I will talk to them and ask if they know what they did wrong and explain it to them.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Give some time out in his/her room. If they continue to cry then I have to go in and talk to him nicely until he calms down.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would explain why it is wrong to draw on the walls and then ask him/her to help me clean it up.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would encourage them and help them do their homework making it more fun by playing with them. Using counters for mathematics.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?3-6 years old because I have been trained to work with that age group. However I have experience with newborns and can learn to interact with older children.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?Yes, I have two sons ages 15 and 11
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am patient, well mannered and responsible. I am also very passionate about children. I am calm and passionate about everything I do. I want to excel in everything I do. I am also quite shy.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastScrambled egg on toast and orange juice.
LunchMashed potato, pork sausage and green beans.
DinnerCreamy chicken and brocolli.
SnackApple wedges.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.We are a decent family with adorable sons and a very responsible father. We got seperated in 2002 but the children are fine with it as the father was away.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.