Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Shizelle

Personal Details

Reference # 201-22458
Name Shizelle
Nationality South African
Age 36
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st) Afrikaans( Matric level) Turkish (basic understand)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes,
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)VW Polo 2011
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2007

Education

Secondary Education
Abbotts College in Claremont - 2001
Tertiary Education

Au pair Course- Cape College

Access to Science and Heath Studies in the UK ( 1 year course)

First year of BSC Occupational therapy -Brunel University London ( I couldn't afford to continue).

Started BA through Unisa but it is on hold at the moment. ( 2010)

First aid TrainingYes
Other Training

Oakley House School - Dyslexia Workshop - 13 May 2016

OnSpectrum - Behaviour Management - 6 June 2015

Learner Facilitation Course - July 2015

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingFebruary 2007- December 2010. 3 years. Mothers health has not been too good so she has had to cut down on the amount of work that she takes. She was therefore not able to afford me. I started working for them again in May 2012 - current.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 boys 6 years, the eldest was 15 years old (he had down syndrome).
What were your duties?School run in the morning at 7h30am and pick them up from school in the afternoons. I did shopping in the morning. Take them to extra murals. I prepared lunch for them and do homework and any other chores or errands that were required, such as taking the animals to the vet or buying gifts for the birthday parties. I would take the kids to extra murals. We would also swim a lot or play board games. 
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingFrom November 2002-2006, 4 years, I returned to South Africa.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 girls age 5 and 7 years old.
What were your duties?Live in position, I would wake them in the morning, assist with dressing, and preparing breakfast, I would clean in the morning, clean the bathrooms, ironing, and household shopping, I would fetch them in the afternoon, make dinner for the family, prepare lunch, assisted with homework, and doing entertaining the children. I assisted full time on holidays. I went away  with them often.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingJuly 2001 until October 2002, I went overseas
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1  girl from newborn.
What were your duties?I cooked, I looked after the animals, I did the shopping, I did cleaning, sterilising bottles, feeding her , bathing her, changing nappies, I would take her to the park, talk and read to her, block play, drawing, playing ball games.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingPart Time
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 Baby Boy
What were your duties?Babysit, change nappies, prepare bottles, entertain him and keep him happy.
  

Reference 5:

Period and reason for leavingTemporary assistance while they visited Cape Town (2011 and 2012)
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 boys, age 3 and 5 years of age, temporary assistance when visiting Cape Town.
What were your duties?Entertaining the boys, preparing lunch, taking them on outings, babysitting, getting them to bed occasionally.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?10 years and while I was at school as well.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I always had a fascination for children and their amazing world that they have. showed interest in friends kids and then they asked me to babysit and look after them during my school holidays then went on to try study further.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?6 weeks old
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Nature, walking and outdoor activities or spending time with my friend's kids.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?Making it the best I can for them in consideration of the situation. Trying to improve their education aspects or general happiness and safety.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Swimming, art and outdoor things like going to the beach or a walk in the forest etc but depends on the child and the family situation
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Try my best I can and call the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I was caring for an 11 year old and she refused to complete her homework. She had emotional problems but was not seeing anyone at the time ( this was about 4 or 5 years ago. She is now seeing a psychologist). We ended up having an argument. I felt the situation could have been dealt with in a more suitable manner. 
What is your approach to discipline?Firm but loving. I think time out is a good method. Depends on age of child.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Explain why something cant be done or have. Depends on situation. Then leave the child for a few minutes to calm down. or in some situations depends on age I would distract them.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Explain that it is not right and explain things that he or she can use to draw on. Then time out.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Explaining the importance and consequence of it not being done. then maybe some privilege will be taken away. or positive reward chart can be drawn up if it is a regular thing.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Any but mostly newborn to 12 years.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Not specifically but the boys do come over to my house over the weekends sometimes.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I come across gentle but firm. I am generous and caring.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastUsual English breakfast
LunchPasta
DinnerChicken and veg and rice
SnackFruit salad and yoghurt
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Not really, but I am vegetarian but I do cook meat.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I was brought up by my mother. My mother lives in India. My family are dispersed all over the country.My dad stays in George. I am an only child.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.