Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Martine Dalziel

Personal Details

Reference # 201-22232
Name Martine Dalziel
Nationality South African
Age 34
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st), Afrikaans (1st), French (matric subject, 6 years experience)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes, regularly checked
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Fiat 500C, 2012
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2005

Education

Secondary Education
Pretoria High School for Girls - 2003
Tertiary Education

Varsity College - Diploma in Project Management  - 2009

Stellenbosch - NDip Graphic design and Photography - 2007

Post-Graduate in Business Project Management through UCT (ends 2017)

First aid TrainingNo, I have signed up for a course to be completed in November 2011

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving2000-2003 ( When I was in school), 2008-2009 Started working permanently. I still assist from time to time.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?When I was in school Nikolien had a school and I assisted in the afternoons, ranging from 5 years to high school students, from 4 children to 20 children. More recently I assisted in caring for her own 2 children , both boys age 7 and 12 years old.
What were your duties?Pick up and drop off from school/extramural activities/doctor appointments, help with homework, babysit.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving2008-2011, Currently still help on an ad-hoc basis
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children Male and female 2 years old (twins)
What were your duties?Babysitting, I get there quite early, help with bathing, serve dinner, I do play with them, or colour in or reading. I occasionally assist during the day, over the weekends.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2008 - June 2008, I Moved back to South Africa.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?4 children 1 male, 3 females 3, 8, 12, 15.
What were your duties?Wake children in the morning, make sure the children are groomed and dressed,make sure children's beds are made and their rooms are clean, prepare breakfast for the children,prepare school lunches for the children,clean up dishes, make sure children have books and homework for school,drive children to and from school/extra-mural activities, chores while children are at school:Look after pets, Grocery shopping,vacuum, dusting,emptying trash,washing and ironing clothes, pick up children from school, prepare a healthy afternoon snack, assist the children with their homework, play with the children, bathe the children ,cook dinner, travel with family.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leaving2007 August to November, I completed my studies and decided to go overseas.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 , 1 boy aged 7 years old and 1 girl age 5 years old.
What were your duties?Babysitter/Au Pair
Drive children to and from school/extra-mural activities
Make sure children's beds are made and their rooms are clean
Prepare lunch and dinner
Bathe children in the evenings
Play with the children
Look after children in the evenings when parents are out
Read bedtime stories and put them to bed
  

Reference 5:

Period and reason for leaving2005 to 2007, I finished studying and moved away.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 girl age, 10 years, 1 boy age 6 years old.
What were your duties?Babysitter/Au Pair, Drive children to and from school/extra-mural activities, Assist with homework, Make sure children's beds are made and their rooms are clean, Prepare lunch and dinner, Bathe children in the evenings, Play with the children, Look after children in the evenings when parents are out, Read bedtime stories and put them to bed.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Atlantic Seaboard
PRETORIA
Pretoria East
Pretoria Central and West
Pretoria Centurion

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?4 years
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have always loved children and I like to keep busy.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?11 months old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I work until around 2 everyday, but I am flexible. I study BSc Environmental Management. I enjoy reading, writing, painting, gymming and the outdoors.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I like getting to know each child´s individual personality and I am always amazed with the enjoyment children get out of the little things in life. One can learn a lot from them.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I enjoy taking them to parks and let them play outdoors. I feel nature is a very important part of a child´s upbringing. I enjoy doing creative things with children for example painting, mixed media art and telling stories.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I always be prepared for an emergency and stay calm if something does happen. I will call an emergency service number in a severe case and call the parents/guardian. I will try my best to help in any case from what I learn at First Aid.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?A boy had a severe tummy bug and tummy ache. I comforted him and gave him his necessary medication. I called his parents and helped him while waiting.
What is your approach to discipline?There should be mutual respect. If necessary, I usually ask in a respectful manner. Discipline starts at home. I do not believe in shouting at or "bribing" children.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I will get down to the child´s level and try to comfort him by making eye contact and keeping him/her calm. I will then get their attention focused on something else.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would ask him why he/she is doing that and then tell them nicely what the rules are and to respect your environment in a way they will understand.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I will ask them what they want to be one day and explain that to get there a person needs to work hard and know the things they teach you at school.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?4-18 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, Hanre de Jager.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a down-to-earth, comfortable people-person. I am considerate and positive. I am determined, punctual and I know what I want to achieve in my life. I am warm and kind-hearted.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastEnglish muffins with cheese and syrup
LunchChicken and salad wraps
DinnerSpaghetti and bolognaise meatballs
SnackSmoothie
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No (I myself don´t eat dairy, but I have no problem cooking with dairy).
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I have a very happy family. I have a sister in Pretoria and two step-sisters in Cape Town. My mom and step-dad, my sister, and myself all live in separate units but in the same complex. My dad, step mom, 2 stepsisters live in Cape Town. I have been brought up knowing that love and family are the most important things. We have been brought up with good manners and appreciation for everything we have.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.