Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Sharon

Personal Details

Reference # 201-2107
Name Sharon
Nationality South Afican
Age 54
Gender Female
Marital Status Divorced
Languages English & Afrikaans

Requirements

Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
Are you in good health?Yes
Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Yaris 2006 T3
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?Since 1998

Education

Secondary EducationMatric
Tertiary Education

Level I Certificate in caring for people at home completed and received from “ The South African Red Cross Society”

HIV/AIDS awareness course, First Aid, Advance home care nursing

First aid TrainingYes
Other trainingFrail Care

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving15 October 2005 - Till current 4/5yrs. Needed to complete rest of Frail care studies and family was not willing to accommodate.
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?Looking after and assisting son since the age of 4 (he is 7yrs of age to date), Looking after daughter of 26 suffering from cerebral palsy (Permanently disabled, and looking after mother of 67 with stage four cancer.
What were your duties?Running of house hold (Buying groceries, light, etc) Taking care of mother (Stage four cancer patient)  Making sure patient remained active  Patient received medication and was able to attend any and all appointments  Medication intake was maintained  Looking after daughter of 26 suffering from cerebral palsy (Permanently disabled) Assisting the daughter with daily walks and activities Making sure she gets daily exercise and eating plan is intact  Looking after and assisting son since the age of 4 (he is 7yrs of age to date)  Assisting with homework and home schooling when not able to attend school  Taking the boy on play dates  Making sure he is attending all after school activities(Cricket, soccer, etc)  Attending school updates and progress reports  Taking and fetching the boy at school  Cooking for the family (Maintaining a strict menu for the week)  Only staying in house when the mother of the house has to attend over seas conferences  Also attending to the house dogs  Maintaining the landscaping (making sure the garden is attended to on a weekly bases, etc)  Only working weekends on emergencies to attend to the children and cancer patient.  I only receive two weeks leave at the end of each year.
  

Reference 2:


Reference 3:


Reference 4:


Reference 5:


Reference 6:


Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula
False Bay
West Coast

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am              

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested Au pairing/ babysitting?I use to work for a company called day and night nursing and I was assisting a regional manager with her ankle and after I was done assisting she employed me permanently in her household and I have looked after her children one having been disabled and the mother having had cancer gave me the additional inspiration as I helped make their lives easier with my knowledge. Ever since then I have had a passion for children as I was involved in her 4yr old sons development up until the age of seven and I could see by his progress that I had a positive influence on him and that was rewarding for and knowing that I could do that made want to help other families.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?Well I am a mother of three so I have cared for my own children since birth.
What activities are you involved in?I do hospital work, I partake in my daughters sports, gym regularly, dance (Latin & Ballroom), jazz music.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Gym, sports, cooking, baking, listening to music and gardening.
What are your interests?Children, Nursing, caring for the elderly and disabled.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?Having a positive influence and being able to assist in their development
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Well with my previous family I use to take the boy on play dates, made sure he attended his after school sport activities, assisted with his homework and checking it with him. We use to swim at home and we took the dogs for walks everyday.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Depending on the situation I would handle it with my knowledge of the situation and if its something I am not familiar with then doctor/hospital would be my first choice.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?There has been many but have handled them all in a manner both professional and as a mother.
What is your approach to discipline?Personally I different approach i would take away luxury items or i would take there games etc away or ground them considering what the child has done would determine the what approach to take. Other than those approach I would consult the family on different means of discipline as each family varies.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would let them carry on with their tantrum and after that I will explain why it is not right what they are doing.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall? I would say that is wrong what he is doing, it looks pretty but its wrong in a nice manner then get him to clean it up with you.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would explain that homework is very important, and that the homework must be done. 
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Any age is fine.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No, but still in contact with them.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?I have 3 children 23 , 24, 15
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?Friendly and confident and I can work well under pressure.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastCereal, scrambled egg and toast
LunchBurger, French toast or a sandwich
DinnerNice cooked meal, with veggies potatoes and chicken
SnackFruit or fruit and yoghurt.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.I am divorced, have three kids, 22  (Daughter), 30 (Daughter) & 31 (Son)

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.