Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Tegan

Personal Details

Reference # 201-20390
Name Tegan
Nationality South African
Age 27
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English, German

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Suzuki Jimny, 2009, 2 door
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?May 2010

Education

Secondary Education
Aurum international college Completed O levels
Tertiary Eduaction
Distant learning for A-levels Maths, English and Psychology, through Oxford open learning.
First aid Training(No

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingMarch 2010- May 2010, 3 months, I had to prepare for exams
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 boy two years old
What were your duties?looking after him, Changing diapers,feeding, going for walks etc
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingJuly 2010 until present , I am still working for her  ( July 2011)
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 boy, 4 years old.
What were your duties?I fetch him from school , I make him his lunch, and snacks. Playing games,supervise play dates, bathing, fetching friends and taking him on outings, sometimes I take him to his mom at work. House sitting as well.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg Sandton

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm            
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am          

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Over one year
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?My sister was an au pair, and I just got my license and returned from Germany. I wanted to continue studying and thought that au pairing would be  a better option for me. I have come to really enjoy it and have found I get on really well with younger children.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?two years old at the kinder garden in Germany
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I am currently an au pair and studying through Oxford open learning.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?Helping parents out and getting to know the children. Teaching them and seeing them learn.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Baking, swimming, reading and puzzles. I really enjoy sports. I am also currently starting a yoga class.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?See what I could physically do to immediately assist, then call an ambulance and then the parent.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?While swimming the child I look after bumped his nose into another child´s, there was a nose bleed and stress, so to calm him down i immediately took him out the water, telling him how it. Everything was okay,  I held an iced cloth to his nose, ran a bath for him to relax in. He was better once the bleeding stopped.
What is your approach to discipline?From the start i like to make it clear that i am in charge and we can do all that is allowed but i am not to be pushed around. I want the children to have fun, but i also need them to understand that if something is not possible they will have to listen to me. I am firm but fair and believe in boundaries. I communicate with the parents about how they prefer situations to be handled.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Ask him what the matter is, if it is unreasonable, i will leave them to have their tantrum and tell them they can join me when they are done.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Tell them to stop and let them help me clean it up so they understand it is wrong.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Let them not do the homework so they understand what the consequences are for their responsibilities.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?From five years to twelve years.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, Vicky.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a young, ambitious and mature student, constantly finding ways to enrich myself further both physically and mentally.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastOmelette, french toast, eggs.
LunchSpaghetti bolognaise, hot dogs, sandwiches
DinnerPasta, roast chicken, rice dishes, bakes
SnackMuffins, fruit salads, snackwiches
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Veal
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I am an only child, my parents have brought me up to be independent and confident. both my parents have great jobs and work from home which has made us very close.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.