Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Roslind

Personal Details

Reference # 201-20205
Name Roslind
Nationality South African
Age 55
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st) and Afrikaans(2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative and educational activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)VW Polo 2001
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
If yes, please describe the accident and when it happened 
In what year did you obtain your driving license?1982

Education

Have you completed matricYes
Where did you attend high schoolDrake College, Johannesburg
What was your pass rate for Matric Distinction ( 80 to 90%)
Have you completed any other studies?If yes, what courses are you busy with or have you completed?

 I attended computer courses (Cape Tech, Gilby's) and received
my certificate as an Estate Agent (2002). I have
also studied Holistic Courses in NLP,
Regression Therapy, and Massage
Therapy.( Pretoria, Wellness Centre, 2008).

First aid TrainingNo, I will be doing a course shortly.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingOctober 2010- Current
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Erin 5, Liam 3
What were your duties?I stay at the house when they are away and all the duties from staying over, cooking, taking them to school, if the maid is away then I also clean, making bottles, dressing them, bathing them and so on.
Do you know the applicant?Yes

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingFebruary  2010, still assisting
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? 1 boy age 16 months old.
What were your duties? Babysitting occasionally,cooking, stimulating play, this is in the morning occasionally, changing nappies, making bottles
Do you know the applicant?Yes

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingAugust 2009- October 2009 and April 2010 - July 2010. It was while the grandmother was overseas ( she usually assisted in caring for Gordon). So it was short term.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? Gordon was 1 when I first looked after him.
What were your duties? Making breakfast, changing nappies, making bottles, taking him on outings, stimulating play, teaching him words.
Do you know the applicant?Yes

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leaving October 2010 until present ( I still assist her)
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? Boy 2 1/2 years old and a girl age 5 when I started.
What were your duties? I stay and move in while mom and dad are away, every second weekend.
References comments about the candidate to be filled in by interviewer Full care from time to time, otherwise, babysitting over weekends.

Reference 5:

Period and reason for leavingJuly 2010 to February /March 2011, they couldn't afford to keep me on.  
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? 1 boy age 13, mild asbergers syndrome.
What were your duties? Picking up from school, Driving to any extra-curricular activities, as necessary,  Coordination and checking of homework, planning of revision for cycle tests and exams. From 2pm to around 7pm. Tutoring in Afrikaans, supervision and preparing for exams  ( GR.8).
Do you know the applicant?Yes

Reference 6:

Period and reason for leavingJune 2011 until present
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? 1 boy age 9 yrs old ( Autistic) and a girl age 17 years old.
What were your duties? Picking up and taking to school in the morning, picking up from school, tutoring the 9 year old, improving his vocabulary, reading, skills and behaviour skills etc.
Do you know the applicant?Yes

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg Sandton
Johannesburg West

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full time 
Part timeBaby-Sitting Only

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?24 years
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have two children of my own (26 & 21). I love working with children and watching their development
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?Birth
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Reading, walking, DIY.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I love watching children develop and grow.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Art, educational, sports, movies, baking, playing.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Assess the situation and contact the parents. Do whatever is necessary for the childs wellbeing and safety.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Being a mother myself, there are many emergency encounters with children. Keep calm and take whatever necessary action is required for the situation.
What is your approach to discipline?Whatever the parents require.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Assess the situation, try to calm them down, and use whatever guidelines the parents have provided.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Depends if the parents allow it, otherwise I would explain why they can't draw on the wall and take action according to the parents guidelines.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework? I would find out why they are not wanting to do the homework.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with? 0 to 9 years old
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones? I do a lot of babysitting and I am currently working in the afternoons as an au pair. 
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they? 2 kids, 21 and 26.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I'm flexible, understanding, patient, I love animals and children. I enjoy a challenge. I can be shy.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastSausages and bacon and eggs or flapjacks, I enjoy being creative
Lunchhot dog
DinnerVegetables,roast chicken,
SnackHealthy snacks
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking? No, I love cooking and baking.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.