Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Andrea

Personal Details

Reference # 201-18698
Name Andrea
Nationality South African
Age 38
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages Afrikaans(1st); English (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative and educational activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes, September 2010
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Toyota Camry Lumiere, 1999
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?1999

Education

Secondary Education
Hoerskool Montana, Pretoria, 1999
Tertiary Education

Web Design Certificate 

BA Fine Art completed 1 1/2 years of the course ( did not manage to complete due to financial reasons)

Art Therapy Diploma ( In England 2 yr course, East Grinstead, School of Arts)

SNAP Tutor Training Certificate ( November 2010)

First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingOctober 2010 - to date, Not leaving, just looking for additional income as I´m only working part-time at the moment.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Currently tutoring one 8yr boy
What were your duties?Offering tutor activities (following a program on SNAP) for development and learning to a boy with special needs (autism) fine motor, gross motor, language skills
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingSeptember 2008 to Dec 2009, I completed the course with PlacetoBe
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Boys and girls age from 4yrs to 11 years old.
What were your duties?Therapy involved a combination of play and art therapy. A person-centered or Gestalt approach to therapy was used to support the therapeutic process of the children. Group Supervision was offered at the end of each day to discuss both mine and the child’s therapeutic process. I was also responsible for providing notes on the progress, I also had to write up reports to social services when necessary.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingJan 2009 - Dec 2009, I left because I completed the practical hours required for my course.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Boys and girls age 5 yrs to 10 years old.
What were your duties?The children were seen during school time. Therapy involved a combination of play therapy (toys, sandtray work, card games, etc.) as well as art therapy (painting, crafts, drawing, clay and play dough modelling). A person-centered approach was used to support the therapeutic process of the child. Weekly supervision sessions with my Supervisor and Art Therapist were held to discuss the needs of the children. Review meetings were also held with the children’s parents to discuss their progress and development.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

PRETORIA
Pretoria East
Pretoria Centurion

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have 2 years experience in working with children in a therapeutic setting, and 6 months tutoring experience.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I started working with children as part of my Art Therapy course, and am now interested in au pairing/baby sitting, because I enjoy working with/caring for children
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?4 years
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I'm interested in arts and work as a fine artist in my spare time ( painting , drawings, portraits). I also enjoy socialising, outdoor activities, and cinema.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I enjoy playing with and spending time with children. I also enjoy seeing children learn new things.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Art activities (play dough, finger paints, sand tray, etc), going to the playground.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Depending on the emergency, I would see if I can help using my First Aid Skills, if not, I would contact emergency services, and also the parents
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?As a volunteer counselor, I worked with a 5yr old boy, who experienced domestic violence, and I had to write a report for Social Services to take action.
What is your approach to discipline?To be firm but fair, and to be consistent.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would ask him/her why they´re crying, and if they don't want to snap out of it, I would ignore their behaviour.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would take the crayon away, tell them not to do it in a firm voice, and give him some paper instead.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would offer a reward for homework done, ie a dvd etc
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?3-12
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, I work with an 8yr old boy in the afternoons.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?no
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?Im patient, love the outdoors & animals, I enjoy listening to music & painting. I'm adventurous and I like challenges. I also like to learn new things and to develop myself. I'm organised, efficient and work hard.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes, I love cooking. When
BreakfastScrambled eggs, with toast, juice
LunchCheese sandwich, fruit
DinnerChicken with pasta & veggies
SnackYoghurt, banana,
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I'm lucky to have a warm and caring mum and older sister. My daD PASSED AWAY UNFORTUNATELY.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.