Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Wiebke

Personal Details

Reference # 201-18363
Name Wiebke
Nationality Namibian
Age 28
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages German (1st), English (2nd), Afrikaans (3rd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate? Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Hyundai i10 2011
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?2-3years

Education

Secondary EducationNamib High School, Swakopmund, Namibia, passed with exemption
Tertiary EducationCape Peninsula University of Technology, Cape Town,Currently studying my second year studying events management  ( it is a 3 year course)  (this data was captured in February 2011)
First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI babysat Kyra-lee and Jaydene from the age of 16 (2006-2010) during their holiday visits to Swakopmund and will continue to do so during their December times.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Two females started at 2 and 7, now aged 6 and 11.
What were your duties?Changing of nappies, preparing bottles, bathing, dressing, feeding, preparing for bed, playtime both creative and educational.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingI started babysitting Merne on the 07/11/2008 up until January of 2011 until I moved back to Cape Town to continue with my studies. Whenever I will go back home to Swakopmund Namibia I will continue to babysit Merne as she is very dear to me.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?One female, she was 2 when I started.
What were your duties?Feeding, bathing, dressing and playtime.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leaving20 and 21 January 2011
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?18 months to 3 years
What were your duties?I would welcome the children and provide a distraction so that the parents could leave, changing diapers, naptime and playtime. Playing and creating activities, assisting with potty training.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm        
12pm-6pm        
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I guess I got involved in childcare when I started babysitting my nieces and then I met Merne. I just love spending time with kids so much because they are so much fun and they are also a challenge because you always have to come up with new interesting and exciting things to keep them occupied and entertained.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?18 months at the creche.
What activities are you involved in?I love birding, coming from Namibia and a family that is very involved in tourism and conservation, I am a girl that loves birding, hiking, traveling, anything outdoors. I used to be very active in community clubs like carnival etc in high school but since moving to Cape Town I suppose the only activities would include gyming and I enjoy attending events off course.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I do some promotion work. In my spare time I play a lot of squash and I love spending time with my friends, we are a bunch of Namibians in Cape Town so we enjoy spending the day exploring the City.
What are your interests?I love reading, baking (a favourite to do thing with the kids), fauna and flora, traveling and sports.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?You have the opportunity to have an influence, make an impression and make a difference. My niece Kyra-Lee for example, now aged 11, she lives in Joburg and I only get to see her in December. She comes from a family that lives in the bush in Namibia, we know about animals and plants and birds. She hasn´t the faintest interest in anything but Justin Bieber. She does however very much love her dog and wants to become a vet one day. For Christmas I gave her a book: "Tippi of Africa". It is written in the form of Tippi when she was 10 so it is very easy for her to understand and follow. When she opened her present I explained to her what I was trying to achieve: firstly that I had wanted her to be curios about the bush and want her to know more, and secondly I had wanted her to learn to love reading for when I was that age I had learned to love to read. Kyra loved the present and I was so proud of her for she finished the book in eight days and started changing the Disney channel to the animal planet channel much to my delight. She is also now reading Charly and the Chocolate factory, even though she has already seen the movie.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?My favourite activity would probably be baking although this results in a sugar rush for the kids afterwards. Once I made Kyra and Jaydene dress up in many different costumes and we had ourselves a fashion show and I took lots of photos. I then made a college of the photos and the girls gave the collage as a Christmas present to their parents. The girls love to go to the beach or the dunes. On a quiet day we will play cards or draw. Once on a very hot day Merne felt like swimming so we took her little splash pool and placed it underneath her slide and put the water hose on the slide, so that when she came down the slide shen splashed into the pool. We also ended up putting on the sprinklers, it was like we created our own water park. Merne and I also enjoy a lot of face painting to, as well as building puzzles, dolls, and off course her favourite thing to do is play with my hair which I just cringe to.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Depending on the situation off course- in the case of an accident I would apply my first aid training and then inform the parents. In any event I would notify the parents as soon as possible.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Luckily I have had very disciplined kids to care for. Therefore I can only answer the most I have struggled would probably have been working in the creche. I was sitting at the table while the kids had been playing with clay when one boy started eating, so I went down to him and kindly explained that he should stop eating that because it will make his tummy not feel nice, but the boy just smiled at me and continued to eat it and ignored me. So not only did I reach for that clay in his mouth but I asked him very nicely to please stop or I´m going to have to take his clay away from him.
What is your approach to discipline?Patience is key.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Come down to their level and ask them what is wrong. If they are throwing a tantrum for silly reasons take him/her to their room or time out chair and explain that they cannot leave until they have calmed down.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Explain that they are not allowed to do this and ask if they understand that what they did is wrong.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Explain that if they do not do their homework they will get into trouble at school and offer to help with their homework, then the work will go quicker and then playtime will come quicker. Alternatively, they are not allowed to get up from the table until they have finished.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?18months to 16years
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, please refer to my first 2 references. I still assist when I go home to Namibia in December.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am honest,trustworthy and responsible- words easily said but qualities I look forward to prove to be true! I am just a down to earth, adventurous,fun young lady who really wants to get to know your children.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastToast with scrambled eggs
LunchCheese and tomato sandwiches
DinnerChicken breasts with brown rice and salad, pastas, I make the best spaghetti bolognaise.
SnackProvita with bovril
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I am not very good with cooking steaks.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.We live in Swakopmund, Namibia. My parents have been happily married for 31years. Both mom and dad are in the tourism industry. My eldest sister lives in Joburg with her husband and two daughters. My other sister is in the Hotel Management Business and could be mistaken for my twin although she is six years older than me.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.