Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Angela

Personal Details

Reference # 201-17834
Name Angela
Nationality South African
Age 59
Gender Female
Marital Status Divorced
Languages English (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license? Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle? Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy? Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public) Geely LC 2013
Do you have seat belts all round? Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault? No
How long have you been driving for? Over 30 years.

Education

Secondary EducationChaplin Highschool in Gwele Zimbabwe -1977
Tertiary Education

Secretarial Course at a college in Zimbabwe

Montessori Course (incomplete due to immigration to South Africa)

Mother Matters Baby Massage Course

First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving2004 to present (2014) still assisting.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children aged 10 months, and the second boy from new born.
What were your duties?Everything, I run the house, I have looked after the children and watched them grow up, done everything from changing diapers, to feeding, bathing to potty training, stimulation, and later school runs, and homework, cooking etc.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingMarch/April 2013 to present
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 boy, age 6 when I started.
What were your duties?Taking him on outings, teaching, numbers, letters and reading. He is currently being home schooled. 
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingMarch 1999 to 2004, Mom decided to stop working and the youngest went off to school.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?3 children, when I started it was 1 child about 4 months old when I started. the other two were born in the years that followed, the middle being born in 2001 and the 3rd in 2003.
What were your duties?I looked after the children, cooked the meals, fed them, changed them, etc.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leaving2004 to present
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 girls, from 10 months old and birth
What were your duties?Au pairing and babysitting, I started working with 
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am    

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I started with a little playgroup when I still lived in Zimbabwe. I am very creative and loved working with children so this was a natural progression for me.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?From 2 days old.
What activities are you involved in?I have an afternoon job. I love craft work, I sew, I knit and crotchet, I love gardening and baking.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?Every child I have looked after is in my heart, I love nurturing them and seeing them grow. I love their uniqueness. To my mind they are all miracles.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I enjoy board games, building lego, drawing etc. Cricket, swimming, playing ball or going for a walk, bike riding, etc. 
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would first check the child is okay, calm him down, call emergency services, and then contact the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I was looking after a little girl, and she had a friend over. The mother of the visiting child was late and I had to go to drop off the boy and girl at her house. Their dog attacked the little boy. I stopped the bleeding, attempting to call the parents, none of whom were answering. I waited for them to return, calming the child.
What is your approach to discipline?I am lovingly strict and fair. I set boundaries. I prefer to reason with a child and use reward systems.Kids are kids, sometimes they have difficult days and just need some love.

How would you handle:

A 2 year old having a tantrum?I usually laugh. I find it helps if you remove them from the scene. I like to use distraction and find a trigger that will assist them to stop.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would check that they have access to paper, if not then, it is not their fault and they are simply expressing their creativity. I would get them to assist in cleaning and then ask them to redraw the drawing on paper.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I will check if they are tired and take a break if required. I find an incentive for them.I try to make it fun for them to complete.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I love babies to about 5, but work with all age groups.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, an afternoon position and working with an autistic boy 2 mornings a week.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?Yes, 2 boys born in 1982 and 1985.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I like to keep a low profile. I am capable. I don't require micromanagement. Reliable, friendly and happy go lucky.I do what needs to be done and go the extra mile for people in my life.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes, I can cook.
BreakfastBacon and scrambled eggs, toast and mushrooms.
LunchA pasta or 'sneak' cuisine (hiding veggies in the food)
DinnerCoq auvin, crumbed chicken, roasts, pot roasts, carrot cake (from scratch)
Snackfruit sticks and dipping yoghurt or nutella, smoothie
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No, I am fine with cooking any types of foods. 
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.My dad has passed and my mom still lives in Zim. I have 2 brothers one 9 years younger than I am. My older brother and I very close, he is an expert in cayenne pepper. My one son runs his own service provider he has a son age 3. My youngest son is in Canada and studying chemical engineering. He has a new born daughter now. We are all close and very loving.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.