Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Carla

Personal Details

Reference # 201-16593
Name Carla
Nationality South African
Age 35
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages Afrikaans (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Citi golf 1998 5 door.
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?Since the age of 18 years old.

Education

Secondary EducationBrackenfell Highs School - 2002.
Tertiary Education

“How to start a day care centre” - Certificate course - INTEC (2009 – 2010)

BOLAND COLLEGE, STELLENBOSCH (2003 - 2005)

First aid TrainingNo

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving09 Feb ’09 – 18 May ’10. (I left due to not really getting on with the nanny)
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 year and 7 months,4 and 8 years old.
What were your duties?Working Mondays – Fridays 12h00 – 19h00 Working every third weekend including Sundays, occasionally taking children to Sunday School. I did homework with GR.R KUMON school prep classes at home and in school holidays. I did homework with Gr.1 daughter Assisted with all her extra tasks and classes. I did homework with Gr.3 daughter throughout 2009 as well as her Gr.4 work up to May 2010 I started working there when the son was 1 year 7 months. He turned 3 year in July this year. I needed to keep him entertained and played with him – sometimes I would take him along driving. Did all the extra mural activities and drove them to and fetched them from school daily. I prepared their lunches when they came from school. Took care of them 24/7 when parents went away for two weeks to Switzerland. Whenever they travelled I was left in charge as guardian during their absence. All three children stayed with me and I was responsible to attend to all their needs. Organising play dates and entertainment activities. Looking after them when going to parties and having play dates in and away. Having children in my sight all the time when leaving house or just around swimming pool. Occasionally did the family’s cooking. I’d say my cooking is of a high standard and generally enjoyable. I enjoy this on occasion and try to prepare it using interesting and creative ways. Did their groceries weekly and kept the stock high as. Did the filing with the wife for husband’s work in between times I had free with the children. I bathed them daily and read them stories. Had to dress the two year old and six year old still. Travelled with the family – mostly weekends, wherever they went. I mopped and washed clothes, did dishes and made the beds on my working weekends and when parents were away for extended periods
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingJune 2010 - current.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?One child 2 years old at the time.
What were your duties?General babysitting duties, bathing and entertaining her, putting her to bed and reading stories.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingJune 2010 - current.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?6 months old baby and 2 year old little boy.
What were your duties?Feeding and dressing, keeping the two year old entertained. Putting them to bed and reading them stories.
Your comments on the experience with this positionLove working with them.

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I just started and it was a great passion of mine. I then done a course in child care and since then I have absolutely loved it.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?Newborn little baby.
What activities are you involved in?Reading, listening to music. I enjoy going to movies as well.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I do currently have an afternoon position.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?It is a big deal being part of a child´s life as they are so innocent in their ways. They develop every day you see your hard work at the end of the day and that gives you the sense of achievement.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?We enjoy lots of arts and crafts, baking and reading to them. I also enjoy lots of physical games with the children.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would contact the emergency numbers given by the parents and then contact them and then the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I have not had any situations that I could not handle.
What is your approach to discipline?I am firm but fair. I would discuss this with the parents.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would walk away and still keep my eye on the child. I would also distract them with something fun and creative.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would tell the child that what they are doing is wrong. I would then give them paper to draw on. I would ask them to clean it with me.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would ask the child where I can help them with their homework. I would explain that homework is extremely important to do.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable from newborn upwards.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I still assist my babysitting clients.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am independent. I am friendly and fun, reliable and trustworthy.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastCereal, scrambled egg on toast.
LunchSandwich with ham and cheese with tomato.
DinnerMac and cheese, grilled fish and steamed veggies.
SnackFruit or yoghurt.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I am fine with cooking any types of foods.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.My mother is a hair dresser. I do not have any brothers and sisters.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.