Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Vivienne

Personal Details

Reference # 201-16532
Name Vivienne
Nationality South African
Age 39
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English and Chinese (cantonese)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2008 Mazda2
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?Yes
If yes please describe the accident and when it happenedTechnically it is my fault. In early 2007 I was pulling off but the car in front of me´s break lights were not working.
How long have you been driving for?For 12 years.

Education

Secondary EducationSt. Cyprians High School
Tertiary EducationCollege of Cape Town Cape Technikon
First aid TrainingYes
Other trainingCertificate in Teach English as a Foreign Language (TEFL)

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving10 weeks; Summer camp contract ended.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I went to work at a summer camp for disabled campers we, the counselors, were at most assign to 2 campers per week each, depending on their ability. I worked with both girls and boys, between ages 13 to 27.
What were your duties?
  • Cleaning and preparing lodge for campers
  • Receiving and checking in campers with their parents/guardians
  • Waking respective campers and preparing them for the day (including helping them to shower and getting dressed.)
  • For waiter duty we helped the campers prepare,serve and clean the tables.
  • Helping the campers at their respective activities during the day.
  • Run and organise evening activities.
  • Ensuring that campers get their necessary medication
  • Getting the campers ready and into bed at night.
  • Ensuring that our special needs campers had fun for the week.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving18 months. End of course.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Babies - 6 babies toddler to grade R - 22-26 children. I worked with both girls and boys.
What were your duties?

Presenting and doing activities with children at the daycare centre 

Assisting teacher with her activities for the rest of the day.

  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leaving6 months. It was the last 6 months required for the course to work with grade R children.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?26 children, between the ages 5-6 (grade R) of both girls and boys in the class.
What were your duties?Presenting and doing activities with children at the daycare centre ― Assisting teacher with her activities for the rest of the day.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
West Coast

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am  

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting? When I realised that I did not want to work in the family business for the rest of my life, I then started to make some inquiries to study to be an educator. I have always loved being around/with children. I enjoy teaching and showing children new things, as well as doing things that give them joy.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?10 month old baby.
What activities are you involved in?Basketball and volleyball
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I enjoy going to the movies and socialising with my friends. I am busy trying to learn the guitar, so I try and play around with my guitar when I can. I try to catch up with family when the time permits us. Socialising with friends on the beach and at Kirstenbosch for the sunset concerts in summer.
What are your interests?I enjoy baking and cooking for friends and family. I enjoy knitting and puzzles (usually in winter). Outdoor sports like canoeing, beach volleyball. I enjoy doing things with my hands like crafts.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I enjoy making them laugh and listen to them talk. I enjoy teaching and show children new things, and going on outings.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Crafts, going on outings, baking, playing on jungle-gyms, swimming, story telling.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would follow the emergency procedure set out at the family house. If there are none I would contact the necessary public service (082911 or 10111); then the child(ren)´s parents. In a medical emergency I would assist using the 1st aid skills trained in, as far as possible.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?At the special needs camp, it was the camper´s (who was autistic) 1st time away, and my 1st camper. I was quite overwhelmed at 1st but asked help from my supervisor on how to deal with it all. I eventually calmed down and was able to take things in their stride, and just kept keeping him busy with activities until the week was over.
What is your approach to discipline?To talk calmly to the children to not do what they are doing wrong, and tell them that this is a warning. If they need to be told again they will have to suffer the consequences (time out or toy taken away) and to follow through with it. When they have calmed down, to explain to the children what they have done wrong/ ask the child if they know what they did wrong, and encourage them to talk about how they feel.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Calmly tell them to stop screaming and crying. Tell them that I am ready to listen to what they want when they are calm. Until they are calm and ready, not respond to them - but to make sure that they are safe.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Tell them to stop drawing on the wall, and make them attempt to help clean up the drawing.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?If it is because they don´t understand the work I will sit with them and go through it with them. If it is because they are lazy and rebellious, I will confiscate or take away an activity they are playing or going to play with. unless they attempt to complete their homework.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Babies to 10 year olds.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?None
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?
  • I love children.
  • I am very patient, friendly and fun with a bubbly personality.
  • Have a kind and caring nature.
  • I am responsible and trustworthy.
  • I have a diploma in Early Childhood Development.
  •  have worked with children between the ages of 12months to 6yrs during my studies at the College of CT.
  • Worked at a summer camp in America with the Special Needs and really enjoyed it.
  • In Australia I worked with children from year 1(grade R) through to year 12 (Matric) during class time as well as boarding house duties.
  • Children´s safety and security is very important to me.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastOmelette with toast
LunchVegetable lasagne
DinnerChicken a la King
SnackFruit and yoghurt
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?None
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.My father is my only living parent who is now retired. I have a younger brother who is running a busy family butchery.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.