Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Maryke

Personal Details

Reference # 201-16523
Name Maryke
Nationality South African
Age 29
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages Afrikaans 1st , English 1st, Dutch 2nd

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate? Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Kia Seroto 2007, 5 door
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
If yes please describe the accident and when it happened n/a
How long have you been driving for?February 2008

Education

Secondary EducationAlexander Road High school, PE, 2008, passed with an exemption aggregate
Tertiary EducationCurrently studying Veterinary Science 5th year (2014) 
First aid TrainingYes
Other training 

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJan 2009- Dec 2009, I left because this was an au pairing job in Holland and I had to come home to study.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 Boy age 4, 1 Girl age 7
What were your duties?In the morning I  would dress the children, prepare breakfast for them and drive them to school. I did the washing, made them lunch, took them home, ensure they ate and then took them back to school and then fetched them again in the late afternoon. In Holland schools have an hour lunch break where the children come home and then they would go back to school until 3pm. We would then ride the horses, play on the trampoline, go cycling, build puzzles, play memory games or dress up etc.I would then prepare dinner as well. I also used to do shopping, set up playdates etc.
Your comments on the experience with this positionIt was a wonderful experience, I really enjoyed my time with the family.

Reference 2:

Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? girl, 11 years old and a boy aged 6 years old
What were your duties? babysitting, watching them and getting them to bed
Your comments on the experience with this position They were cute kids, I really enjoyed the position.
Do you know the applicant? Yes

Areas & Availability

Areas

PRETORIA
Pretoria East

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Please state your areas of availabilityPretoria all areas, but preferably Pretoria East
Please state your accurate times of availabilityI am available for baby-sitting (2012)

Salary expectations

Full time negotiable
Part timenegotiable

Questions

Please tell us a bit more about the courses you are currently busy with, if any and also a bit more about where you see yourself in 5 years? Currently studying Veterinary Science, I will still be studying for the next 6 years .I want to be a vet when I am finished studying.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I au paired in Holland for a year and loved it. My grandmother lives in Holland and when I took a gap year she suggested I try it. I did and I loved every second.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?3 years old.
What activities are you involved in?Working and studying. I used to enjoy squash as well.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I do promotions and play sport.
What are your interests?Working with animals and children.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?A child's love and playfulness.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Playing games or sports.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Depending on the emergency phone the police or ambulance and the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it? 
What is your approach to discipline?Explaining to child why they cannot do something and if they don't listen then give them a time out by putting them in a corner and asking them to explain what they did wrong.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Distract them with something else.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Tell them its naughty and give them a time out.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Compromise tell them that if their homework is done them they will be allowed to do another activity.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?All
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a fun outgoing person with a wide range of interests and I love children.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastPorridge, eggs and toast etc
LunchSandwiches
DinnerChicken veggies rice
SnackA biscuit or some fruit
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.I have one 15year old sister and my parents are both teachers.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.