Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Astrid

Personal Details

Reference # 201-16209
Name Astrid
Nationality South African
Age 28
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English, Afrikaans

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
No
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Yaris 2009 - 4 door 
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes, back and front all in good working order.
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?Since 2010

Education

Secondary EducationCape Academy of Mathematics, Science and Technology
Tertiary EducationUCT 2nd year BSocSci
First aid TrainingNo, I will register for first aid.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingMay 2009 - September 2010. Child had to start pre school.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?One girl, 2 years old at the time. 
What were your duties?Supervise nap times, making lunches and snacks for her, planning activities for her and keep her entertained.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I walked passed a pamphlet at Varsity for a family looking after children and that's how it started. 
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?Two years old.
What activities are you involved in?I play tennis and swim and photography.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?No spare jobs at the moment.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I like the way they think and grow up. It's totally different to us older adults the way we see things.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I enjoy taking them out and playing outdoor games,arts and crafts, educational games and interacting with them.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would have list of all the important numbers on me given by the parents.I would then contact the emergency numbers and then the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?If a child does not want to listen to me I would just say I am going to tell your mom in a very nice way. 
What is your approach to discipline?I use positive reinforcement. I also enjoy using star charts.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would distract them with something fun and creative. I would also find out why they are having the tantrum.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would ask the child to please help me clean the wall, I would also explain to them that what they are doing is wrong.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would make it fun for them, explain why it is important to do homework and assist them in the best way possible.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am fine working with children from 5 years and older. 
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No, I do not work for any of my previous employers.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No, I do not have any of my own children.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am reliable and flexible. I am very goal driven.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes, I can cook.
BreakfastPronutro with milk.
LunchToast with vienna's, sandwich or hot dogs.
DinnerSteamed veggies, mac and cheese, grilled fish. 
SnackCut up fruit and yoghurt. 
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No, I am fine with cooking any types of foods.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.I have 2 sisters, they both live on their own. My dad is self employed and my mother works for a shipping company.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.