Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Lilian

Personal Details

Reference # 201-15844
Name Lilian
Nationality South African
Age 56
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English and Afrikaans

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?No
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Toyota Corolla 1.6 1998 model.
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?Since 2008

Education

Secondary EducationCrestway High School
Tertiary EducationI am qualified as an Enrolled Nursing Assistant - 1982.
First aid TrainingYes
Other trainingNo other training at the moment.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingApril 2004 - current
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?One boy newborn and one girl newborn.
What were your duties?Looking after them, first it was full day and then after was for half day. I would change nappies, bath them, put them down for naps, change them, potty train them, stimulate them, entertain them and supervise them.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving April 2004 - current
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?One boy from newborn and later another newborn who is now 19 months old.
What were your duties?General babysitting duties: Changing nappies, playing stimulating games, putting down for naps and supervising them.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 1998 - December 2004. I left to work for the Mackiver family.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?All ages females and males from newborn - elderly.
What were your duties?Washing babies, helping mothers breastfeed. Assisting new mothers, assisting in post natal ward, taking to the bathrooms, I assisted in the medical ward as well as maternity ward.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingI started in 2011 - Jan 2013. The family does not need full time assistance any more as the children are going to school now. I still babysit for them.
Number of children,age and

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm  
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I got involved through my first nursing job.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I have cared for is newborn.
What activities are you involved in?I go to gym and walk allot.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I do occasional babysitting.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child’s life?I enjoy seeing on how they grow up and the little things we get to share together in life.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?All sorts of activities, cricket and soccer, educational games, swimming, reading, building blocks, building puzzles, baking, arts and crafts.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?It depends on the emergency. I would contact the emergency numbers, then contact the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I have not had any difficult situations that I could not handle.
What is your approach to discipline?I would discuss it with the parents. I would find out on how the parents discipline their children.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would have eye contact with the child and find out why they are having the tantrum. I would calm them down or take them for a little walk to clear their mind and distract them with something fun.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would explain that it is wrong to draw on the wall. I will ask them to help me clean the wall and give them paper to draw on.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would explain why it is important to do their homework. I also work on a point and star system.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Newborn - 6 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, I do work for Maciver family still.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?Yes, one child. He is 26 years old.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am open and very pleasant, caring, honest, trustworthy and reliable.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes, I can cook.
BreakfastCereal with juice.
LunchSandwich with cheese and ham.
DinnerChicken and mac and cheese, mince with veggies and cheese.
SnackRice cakes, biltong and raisins.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No, I am fine cooking any types of foods.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.My mom is deceased, I have two sisters one younger than me and the other one is older than me.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.