Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Marlise

Personal Details

Reference # 201-15785
Name Marlise
Nationality South African
Age 33
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English, Afrikaans, Some Xhosa

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?No
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Honda Ballade 1994
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?Since 2002

Education

Secondary EducationHerschel High school Cape Town 2005 (passed with Merit.)
Tertiary EducationBEd degree (UNISA) - Foundation Phase in my second year now. Bcom at Stellenbosch - 2006.
First aid TrainingYes, I have to renew my first aid.
Other trainingI have had training in working with disabled children as well as volunteering work at Bel port and Red cross hospital.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingDecember 2009 - current.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children girls aged 11 and 13 years old.
What were your duties?Collecting from school and assisting with homework, prepare the odd lunch for them, I would take and collect them from extra murals and supervising them. I have also had sole charge of them whilst their parents go away on holiday.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingMay 2009 - November 2009.I had to study for exams.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children girl aged 1 and boy aged 3.
What were your duties?Collecting from school and crèche, nappy changing, sleep routine, playing stimulation games with them, arts and crafts, bath them, supervise them and prepare meals for them.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingEnd of July 2007 - December 2008. I needed to come back to study.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?6 months and 2 years old boy and girl.
What were your duties?I worked 12 hours a day, changing nappies, feeding, putting to bed, preparing all their food, grocery shopping, planned all their outings, done all the bedtime routines and supervised them. 
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm  
12pm-6pm            
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm  
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?Since a very young age my neighbours would ask me to babysit. I love children, I am studying to be a teacher.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?Newborn, premature and multiples
What activities are you involved in?I enjoy going to the gym. I enjoy going to movies, hiking, I am also involved with my church.I would also like to volunteer at Red cross again. I am also assisting at Bel Porto once a week.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Yes, I still Au pair in the afternoons.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I especially love the little ones, and the influence that you have on their lives.They so little and tent to seep up what you give to them.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I love reading to them, messy play and arts and crafts. Playing outdoors and going to the park, taking them out and about. I love cooking and baking. Educational games and stimulating games.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Depending on the emergency, if the child had burnt himself I would try and stay calm and calm the child down. I would contact my mom as she is a doctor, I would also use my first aid. I would then contact the parents.  I would of course assess the situation first.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?In London, the little girl and myself were going down a hill and fell off while going down an incline. She then went into a brick wall.  Luckily another parent was with and we then made an emergency appointment with the doctor and notified the parents.
What is your approach to discipline?I use positive reinforcement. I would also discuss this with the family.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Depending on the child, in general I would let the child have the tantrum and ignore it. I would also find out why they are having the tantrum and calm them down.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would explain to them that we do not draw on walls and give them paper to draw on, I then will say now we can keep this beautiful picture and give it to mom and dad when they get home.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would find out why the child is not wanting to do their homework. I would do the homework in stages with the child and give them little breaks in between and then back to doing homework.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am fine with working from newborn up until - 14 years old.  I love working with babies and toddlers.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, I do.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No, I do not have any children of my own.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am bubbly and friendly, I get along with people of all ages. I am very responsible. I take initiative and very trustworthy.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes, I can cook.
BreakfastCereal, juice or toast with jam.
LunchPeas, sweet corn and potatoes wedges.
DinnerSpaghetti and meatballs, fish bake or mac and cheese with veggies.
SnackRaisins and banana or little crackers and cheese.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No, I am fine cooking any types of foods.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.I have a younger brother, he is 20 years old. My parents are divorced and I live with my mom they are both doctors. 

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.