Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Amanda

Personal Details

Reference # 201-14956
Name Amanda
Nationality British (South African citizenship)
Age 34
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Hyundai Elantra - 1996
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes, all in good working order.
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?Since 2003 

Education

Secondary EducationHigh School Inside learning centre - 2009  
Tertiary EducationEarly childhood development NQF level 4
First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingMid 2004 - December 2007. I relocated to Cape Town.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children at the time. I have been assisting them since the ages of 10. 
What were your duties?General babysitting and sometimes collecting them from school and extra murals, preparing lunches for them and playing age appropriate games with them. 
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingDecember 2006 - end of February 2007. I relocated to Cape Town. 
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?12 - 15 children aged from 2 - 3 and 4 - 5 boys and girls.
What were your duties?Supervising them, assisting with lesson planning and helping them with their drawing, , assisting with their afternoon nap, supervising lunches and supervising on the play area as well. 
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingMay 2007  - July 2007. I done my practical at Tick Tock educate centre.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?6 babies from 3 months old and then from 2 -3 years old 10 children. 
What were your duties?I would  have to change nappies, feeding them, stimulating them, preparing bottles for them, assisting with the 2 - 3 year old, planning of activities for them and supervising them. 
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm            
6pm-6am            

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm            
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?Because I love children and love working with them they inspire me. 
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I have cared for was 4 months.
What activities are you involved in?I enjoy reading and going for long walks.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?No other jobs at the moment.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?Being able to teach them something that I have learnt throughout my life, keep them happy, full of smiles love them and care for them. 
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I enjoy baking and cooking, educational games, swimming, outside play, going on outings, anything fun and active.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would use my first aid, call the parents and then the emergency numbers and keep the parents up to date of what the situation is. If it was much worse I would first call the emergency numbers and then call the parents. Also to keep the child calm. 
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I was working at Tick Tock and one child fell from the jungle gym and broke her tooth, I then cleaned out the mouth and called the ambulance and then her parents. 
What is your approach to discipline?I am firm, I would discuss this with the parents as well. 

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would be firm and No is no, I would put them in a quiet spot for a minute and find out why the child is having the tantrum and try to avoid it for the next time. 
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would take away the drawing object, speak to them firmly and let them know what they have done is wrong. I would then give them paper to draw on. 
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would explain to them that they have to do their homework, try and make it a fun thing for them. I would also be quite firm with the children doing their homework and discuss it with the parents.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable working with children from 4 months upwards.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No, I do not work for any of my previous employers.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No, I do not have any children of my own.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am bubbly,friendly,soft hearted  
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes, I can cook.
Breakfastcereal/porridge with juice or milk
LunchSandwich with ham and cheese, little Melrose block with a biscuit.
DinnerAny pasta dish,grilled chicken with steamed veggies and some rice.
SnackFruit a glass of milk or juice and little mini cheddars.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No, I am fine with cooking any types of foods. 
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.MY parents are married for 25 years. We are both adopted. My gran parents still live with my parents. We love each other very much and support each other. 

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.