Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Nicoleen

Personal Details

Reference # 201-14691
Name Nicoleen
Nationality South African
Age 42
Gender Female
Marital Status Married
Languages Afrikaans(1st), English(2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Datsun go 2015mode
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?Since 2008

Education

Secondary EducationMalibu High grade 10 - 1993
Tertiary EducationLevel 4 and 5 in Early child hood Development
First aid TrainingNo
Other training
  • Intimidate active Learning
  • Promote heath Development
  • Numeracy Learning program
  • Literacy Learning program
  • Life skills program 
  • Safety in and around the home
  • CPR & choking for infants and children
  • Injury emergencies
  • Temperature related emergencies

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2009 - August 2010, I was looking for a half day position
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 boy aged 2 months and one girl aged 2 years old. 
What were your duties?Look after the little boy and make lunches for both of them, assist with dinner for the parents. Clean their rooms and pack away the children toys and sometimes I would do the laundry as well. Supervise them, play games with them. Pu them down for naps. I would also collect the little girl from school as well. 
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2002 - December 2005. I moved and could no longer assist her.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?30 children in the creche. Boys and girls ages from 2 - 3 years old.
What were your duties?I was the assistant teacher,looking after them, cleaning the class, taking them to the bathroom, potty training them, supervising them,assist them outside when they are playing. Assist with feeding the children and reading stories to them and assist with activities.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Northern Suburbs
West Coast

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm  
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I started working at a creche and for the love of the children I just kept on working with children. 
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?3 months old.
What activities are you involved in?I love reading, going to church as well.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I still assist Adel at the moment.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I see them growing up and getting bigger, how the start talking and walking makes my heart beat faster. Saying their first words. 
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I enjoy playing outside with them, anything active and fun, reading and music. I love jumping on the trampoline with them anything fun and educational. 
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would first call the parents and then stay calm and calm the child down. I would then notify the emergency numbers and use my first aid. 
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?It was at a creche and a child fell and cut her leg open, I then applied some pressure to the wound, cleaned it with an antiseptic and called her parents. 
What is your approach to discipline?I believe in talking to the parents on how they discipline their children.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would ask them what is wrong and why they are having the tantrum. I would ignore the tantrum and make sure that they know I am not paying any attention to them. When they have calmed down I will then pick them up. 
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would explain to them that its not right to draw on a wall. I would give them paper to draw on. I would also ask them to help me clean the wall. 
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Talk to the child nicely and find out why they don't want to do homework and that it is important for them to do homework. 
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I love working with babies up until toddlers.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I still assist Adel.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?Yes first born 1993, second born 2000 and last born 2007
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am independent, I am kind, soft hearted, friendly, reliable, honest, trustworthy and responsible. 
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes, I can cook.
BreakfastPorridge 
LunchChicken, potatoes and veggies. 
DinnerPasta with ham and cheese or fish and veggies
SnackYoghurt, biscuits, and a fruit.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I am uncomfortable cooking pork.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.I have my mother my father died, my mom is an house executive I have one brother who is 30 years old. I have 2 sisters 39 and 36 years old. They are also Au pairs.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.