Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Liana

Personal Details

Reference # 201-14529
Name Liana
Nationality South African
Age 32
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English, Afrikaans

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes, I do have first aid.
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)VW Polo Playa
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes, all working.
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?Since 2006

Education

Secondary EducationHoer school Sukunda - 2005
Tertiary EducationNo tertiary education at the moment.
First aid TrainingYes, I do have a valid first aid certificate.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingOctober 2009 - October 2010. Came to the United States as an au pair for 12 months.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?3 girls Ages 2, 3 and 4 years
What were your duties?Playing with them, doing creative projects with them, drop off at the nursery school, pick up at the nursery school, giving them breakfast lunch and dinner as well as snacks. Bathing them. Cleaning up after them.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg East Rand
Johannesburg Sandton
Johannesburg South
Johannesburg West

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I worked for SASOL for three years in their IT department. I enjoyed working with people, but I did not enjoy the "same old routine" everyday. With children you NEVER know what the day will bring :) So now I am working with ´little people´ :) I started babysitting on weekends about two years ago, and I really enjoyed it. I have an outgoing bubbly personality, and the children pick up on it, so we get along very well. That is why almost a year ago I registered to be an au pair in the States, and I loved every minute of it. Now I am ready to become an au pair in my home country :)
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?2 years
What activities are you involved in?Attend bible study on a weekly basis
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Going to the gym, Reading, writing short stories, listen to music, watch a movie, enjoying quality time with family and friends.
What are your interests?I love animals, so enjoy volunteering a animal shelters. I would like to write and publish a novel within the next 10 years, so enjoy working on that.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?The look on a child's face when they tell you they love you and they give you a hug and kiss. Children are the most sincere being on earth, they will always ´tell it like it is´ :) I am humbled by the fact that as an au pair you get to share those precious moments in the child s life.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Arts and crafts. Reading to them Playtime at the park when we can just run around and be silly Helping them prepare a show for Mommy and daddy and the acting it out with them
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Stay calm (Here in the States you dial 911), in SA I would call an ambulance Determine what the child needs ect CPR Do CPR Keep the child calm until the ambulance/paramedics arrive Inform the parents of the situation Call the
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?The most difficult situations for me has been when the children throw a tantrum, so its not really that bad (although at the time it seems very bad :) I have remained calm, and seeing that the parents gave me permission to discipline their children I would put the child in time out so that they can calm down. Afterwards I would talk to the child and explain that the behaviour was unexceptional.
What is your approach to discipline?It all depends on how the parents wish to discipline their children and what they want me to do in difficult situations. With some kids time out works just fine. With others you sometimes need to take away a toy or fun activity in order for them to learn a lesson. Either way I would discuss discipline with the parents before I start so that I know my place.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Try and calm the child down by talking n a mild tone. Remove the child from the area and take him/her to a quiet place where they can have a time out to calm down and realise that what they did was wrong.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Tell the child that we don't do that and give him/her a colouring book and colour with them so that they see that colouring in books are much more fun :)
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Try and determine why the child is refusing to do homework. Is it because they don't understand the work? In that case assist the child with what they are struggling with. Are they refusing to do their homework because they would rather play? Tell them that if they finish half of their homework now, we can have an 15min play break time, and then we can finish the rest after they had their break. Try and encourage the child as much possible.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Any age from 2 - 15. But I would prefer looking after children ages 6 and up.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, Now I still assist my USA family.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a fun loving, outgoing, spontaneous, loving person who enjoys life and everything about it. I appreciate family and friends and regard them as the most important in my life. I am unique, one of a kind :) And I can promise you that having me as a part of your family will proof to be the best decision you could have make.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes, I can cook.
BreakfastCheese omelet and toast
LunchTuna/ Chicken salad or a ham, cheese tomato sandwich
DinnerSweet and sour chicken with yellow rice; sweet corn and baked potatoes
SnackYoghurt, biscuits and cheese. 
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No, I am fine cooking any types of foods.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.I have 1 sister- 17 My mom works for Sure Slim, so she runs a slimming clinic from home. My dad is an engineer; he is currently working on the Sasol 4 project in Ellisras.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.