Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Mariam

Personal Details

Reference # 201-14323
Name Mariam
Nationality Indian
Age 28
Gender Female
Marital Status Married
Languages English, Afrikaans Urdhu and Arabic

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate? If No, please click here to take part in a course near you.Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Toyota 1994 
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes, back and front working,
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
If yes please describe the accident and when it happenedN/a
How long have you been driving for?April 2010

Education

Secondary EducationI matriculated at Orient Islamic School in Durban in 2008.
Tertiary EducationI am currently studying Sport and Recreational Science at the University of the Western Cape I also studied a year at University of Kwa-Zulu Natal in Durban.
First aid Training(If no, please fill in the application form for the course byclicking here, we cannot register you if have not done or do not complete a first aid course)Yes, I do have a valid first aid.
Other trainingI completed a swimming course last year 2009.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingAugust 2007 - August 2009. I got married in Cape Town
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?5 years old little boy at the time.
What were your duties?I took him to school everyday and fetched him as well. I kept a guard on him at school as we were attending the same school. I taught him how to put his sporting skills at use by teaching him cricket and now he is playing cricket for his school.
Your comments on the experience with this positionThrough my experience I found that I can manage children better and have a good understanding with them. With this daunting task I realised a whole lot patience was needed. hence I have developed my own strategy on babysitting.

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingEnd of July - August 2010- assisted for a period of one month as Lara lives in the Uk and needed a sitter for her child for that period whilst she was in Cape Town.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?10 month old baby boy.
What were your duties?Bathing, changing, feeding and keeping him entertained.
Your comments on the experience with this positionI really enjoyed this position allot. Such a cute and well behaved child.

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am    

Availability Questions

Please state your areas of availabilityClaremont, Rondebosch, Newlands and surrounding areas
Please state your accurate times of availabilityIn the afternoons any time after 15h00pm

Salary expectations

Full time 
Part timeNeg

Questions

Please tell us a bit more about the courses you are currently busy with, if any and also a bit more about where you see yourself in 5 years? I am studying sport science at the University of Western Cape. in 5 years I see myself as a SA sport coach.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have two adorable sisters and cared for them many times that's what got me involved in caring for children.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?10 months old baby boy.
What activities are you involved in?Kung fu, play cricket for UWC. love reading and skating
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?No other jobs at the moment.
What are your interests?Sport.. currently playing cricket for the university of cape town and i love the wii
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?It gives a sort of satisfaction knowing that the children look up to you and the respect that I receive from the children.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?All sorts, sports, playing with them feeding them.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would remain calm. call for necessary help once the situation/child is seen to then alert the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?When a four year old jumped from his bed impersonating a wrestler. his mouth hit the side of his desk and he lost four teeth with two teeth lodged in his gums. I held him trying to comfort him and then put a cloth over his mouth I then rushed him to hospital and called his parents.
What is your approach to discipline?I personally believe that being verbally and physical abusive does not help the child in any way. I believe that children need to be spoken to yes when they are naughty they need to be reprimanded in a stern voice.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would calm the child and speak to her in a calm manner and make her understand that its not good to throw a tantrum.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Speak in a calm tone and tell them what they did was wrong and instead of giving them a crayon I would give them an eraser. or ask them to clean it off and give them a paper to draw on.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Sit and explain the benefits of doing homework and I can read him/her a book or play a game.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?3-10 years old
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No, I do not have any children of my own.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No, I do not work for any of my previous employers.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am responsible, fun and love sports,I love children and I am honest and reliable.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastWhole grain cereal with yoghurt and fruit
LunchSand which( chicken mayo and lettuce, cheese and tomato, peanut butter and jelly)
DinnerPasta with white sauce. roast chicken and boiled vegetable, butter chicken
SnackApples with peanut butter, fruit, cream cheese with chips
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I am uncomfortable pork. 
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.I have two sister they are aged 8 and 12. My mom is a book keeper and my dad is a mechanical engineer.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.