Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Caryn

Personal Details

Reference # 201-14319
Name Caryn
Nationality South African
Age 28
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st) and a little Afrikaans

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Ford Fiesta ST 2007 model
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes, all working
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?Since 2010

Education

Secondary EducationSandringham High School - 2008 (passed with matric exemption)
Tertiary Education UJ - Currently studying BA Corporate Communication  This is my first year.
First aid TrainingYes, I do have valid first aid.
Other trainingNo other training at the moment.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving1 Year (2009) Still currently involved in the school assisting as after care teacher. Left to go study.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?60 Children in School aged from 2 to 6. 
What were your duties?General Assistant. I helped in the office as well as in the classroom. I also run the after-care in the afternoons 2 or 3 times a week. Main duties were supervision and stimulating the children.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg Sandton

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have been involved with Bramley nursery school for a long time, I basically grew up there and now my mother has taken over the school which left me being her right hand man. Together we are running the school and loving every minute of it. Being a student is tough without and income, and therefore I needed to bring in some income and would rather do something i love involving children like au pairing. I also believe it brings great reward when in the right situation.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?3 months old (babysitting for friends/family).
What activities are you involved in?I enjoy modern dancing and enjoy going to gym. 
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?In my spare time I volunteer at the Princess Alice Adoption Home. I also go to the Gym and make time for my friends.
What are your interests?Dancing and Music are my absolute passion.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?The reward it brings when bonding with a child is very special.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Depending on their age- I like to do physical activities to keep their bodies moving. I also enjoy one on one stimulation activities like drawing, painting and games. 
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would first see whether its something I could help (example first aid etc) otherwise I would put the child's safety first and alert the parents immediately as well as any necessary services.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I had a 4 year old girl who fell off the jungle gym and cracked open her head. I immediately applied pressure, cleaned the wound as best I could and held the wound together as it needed stitches. the parents were contacted right away to take her to hospital.
What is your approach to discipline?I am very friendly but firm with the rules and necessary behaviour. I will never raise my voice or my hand at a child. 

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would leave her to cry for a while and try distract him/her with something else like a toy or a game ect.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would take the crayons away immediately and let her know what she is doing is wrong and that her parents would be very angry if they had to see it. i would also give her paper to then draw on.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would try use incentive such as a sweet or a nice game we could play after if she/he completes his homework.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Birth to 5 years are my favourite age group. But I cope with any age group.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I am actively involved with Bramley Nursery School but only to help out my mother.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No, I do not have any children of my own. 
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?Caring, Outgoing, Willing to learn new things, Patient, understanding and considerate.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastEggs.toast (simple breakfasts)
LunchSalads,sandwiches,
DinnerChicken,rice,vegetables,steak.pasta.
SnackFruit, biscuits and cheese.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I'm not the best cook but I'm able to cook basic meals.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.Mom-Owns nursery School. Dad-Logistic manager of a company. Brother (28) Brother (24) I am the baby of the family and my parents are still married so I live with them. we have a very good family life, we are all close and get along well. my eldest brother has a baby of 1 years old making me an aunty. 

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.