Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Jane

Personal Details

Reference # 201-13957
Name Jane
Nationality South African
Age 57
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English(1st) Afrikaans(1st) Billingual

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate? Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Toyota Conquest
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes, back and front
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?30 years

Education

Secondary EducationSt Mary’s Diocesan School for Girls (DSG)-1981
Tertiary EducationCompleted a secretarial course - Carr’s College - 1983
Qualified with Bachelor of Primary Education (B Prim. Ed)- UNISA-1988
1992 – 2008: Completed the following courses:

Certificate in First Aid
Accreditation Kolbe Entrepreneur (HR)
Accreditation Kolbe Specialist II (HR)
MS Access, Excel and Microsoft word
Short course in Communication Skills
Short Course in Management of change
Skills programme certificate in Marketing and Marketing Management
First aid TrainingYes, I do have First aid.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingMarch 2005 - March 2007.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?One girl aged: 11 at the time.
What were your duties?I was her Au pair and tutor. I would assist her with homework and projects, collect her from school and supervise her, Prepare a meal for her and do some fun activities together.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingFor the period of 2009 January - December.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?One boy aged 2 years old at the time.
What were your duties?Supervise him, play educational games with him, prepare a meal for him and play age appropriate games, putting him down for naps as well.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingSeeking full time employment with higher salary.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Two children age 2 and 9.
What were your duties?Driving the children from school and to other activities.
Do you know the applicant?Yes

Areas & Availability

Areas

PRETORIA
Pretoria North
Pretoria East
Pretoria Central and West
Pretoria Centurion
MIDRAND
Midrand

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have always enjoyed looking after children, I started looking after children from teenage years. 
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I have cared for is Newborn.
What activities are you involved in?I enjoy reading and going for walks.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I am currently working part time as an Au Pair for lifting.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I love to see them grow and learn new things, I love to be part of their lives and make a change.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Anything educational, I believe this is extremely important in a child's life as the first 5 years are where they develop their skills.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Use my First Aid to the best of my ability and then contact the emergency numbers given by the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Thus far I have had no bad situations.
What is your approach to discipline?I would discuss this with the parent.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would distract them with a fun toy and calm them down, then find out why they had the tantrum. 
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would explain in a nice way why it is wrong to draw on the wall and give them paper to draw on and ask them to assist me to clean the wall. 
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Try and make it fun for them, homework is never fun to do but I am willing to help them with it.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Any age is fine for me.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, Disebo Moremi (see reference 3)
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?Yes, I do have children of my own, all grown up already, my son is in varsity at the moment.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am fun and friendly, reliable and very honest.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes, I can cook.
BreakfastCereal, fruit and juice.
LunchSandwich, or fruit pieces and some crackers.
DinnerFish with veggies, roast chicken, mac and cheese.
SnackYoghurt, juice and maybe a nice health bar.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No, I am fine with cooking any types of foods.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.We are a close knit family and we all get along well together.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.