Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Melissa Faith

Personal Details

Reference # 201-13939
Name Melissa Faith
Nationality South African
Age 31
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English and Afrikaans

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate? Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Citroen C2, 2 door, 2006 model
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?Since 2007

Education

Secondary EducationGardens Commercial High School - 2005.
Tertiary EducationHarvard Extension School Journalism (Media, Democracy, Development) Infant & Child health and safety Child development-ages and stages Age appropriate activities Building positive self concepts in children Nutrition and feeding Communication with children
First aid TrainingYes,

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJune 2005 - Current.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I was a nanny for a little boy named Daniel from the age of 0 months - 3 years.
What were your duties?My duties varied on a daily basis. I would have to bath and feed him keep him a stable routine He was and still is a very energetic little boy. I tried playing with him as much as possible to stimulate him mind. We would often go on scavenger hunts and play with his collection of cars that he had.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingMarch 2008.I assisted for 200 hours.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I alternated between two classes. I had a 0 months – 3 ½ class and I had a 3 ½ - 5 year old classes. I assisted a maximum of 30 children.
What were your duties?I would encourage to kids to take part in arts and crafts and sing along. Also colour, shapes, sizes, number and alphabet recognition. I would feed them as well.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingMay 2008 - September 2009. My father was ill and I had to return to South Africa.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I took care of 4 adorable little children named Ainsley (4 ½ years old), Ryan (3 years old), Peyton (1 ¼ years old) and Caroline newborn.
What were your duties?For the most part I was responsible for the well-being of these kids and getting them ready for the days tasks and activities. I did everything from getting them dressed in the morning, fixing and feeding breakfast them breakfast, lunch and dinner. I took the older kids to school picking and pick them up etc. To improve there social skills we had loads of play-dates with kids in their age group. Among other things I loved doing with the kids, were reading to them (I read tons of books to them). While I was doing all this I travelled around the US, exploring different parts of the United States. I spent a lot of time nurturing the kids and helping them explore new and exciting things.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leaving16 April 2011 - Currently employed, part time.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 Children, 4 and 13 years old.
What were your duties?I am responsible for the overall well-being, mental and physical stimulation of the children. I fetch the children from school, feed them, assist them with homework, bath them and feed them.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?In 2005 I started babysitting for Daniel and since then, my passion for childcare has grown. I just adore their company.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The age of the youngest child I have cared for is newborn.
What activities are you involved in?Swimming, hiking going to the beach when I can, I enjoy shopping and spending time with friends.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Yes, I currently still assist with little Daniel.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child’s life?The fact that I can influence them in a positive way. I enjoy surrounding them in a positive environment.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Going to parks, taking them to movies, arts and crafts, bike rides, museums and educational games.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would call the ambulance then the parents and keep the child and myself calm at the same time.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?The toddler that I took care of, she was constantly faking that she was choking and one day she was actually choking. I had to perform CPR on her and everything was fine after that.
What is your approach to discipline?My approach to discipline, depending on the age of the child. I do believe in time outs or I count till 3. I usually work with one minute per age.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would sit them down where ever they are having the tantrum and calm them down. I would ideally distract them with something fun.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would explain that drawing on a wall is not very acceptable. I would give them paper to draw on.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would take away one of their favourite toys or games. I would explain how important it is to do homework.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable looking after children from Newborn to 7 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, I still assist with little Daniel.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No, I do not have any children of my own.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am optimistic, bubbly person, enjoy reading. I enjoy socializing and meeting new people. I am creative and funny at times.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastJungle Oats
LunchSausage rolls or a sandwich
DinnerChicken and rice with veggies or fish and veggies.
SnackYoghurt and fruit
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No, I am fine cooking any types of foods.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.My parents are still together. I have two older brothers. My parents are retired and my one brother lives abroad.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.