Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Susan

Personal Details

Reference # 201-13429
Name Susan
Nationality Zimbabwean
Age 48
Gender Female
Marital Status Married
Languages English

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Toyota Corolla 1991
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes, all in good working order.
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?Yes
If yes please describe the accident and when it happenedCar came up hill on my left side and due to a blind spot on my vehicle, I didn't see it and was side swiped.
How long have you been driving for?20 Years

Education

Secondary Education8 Cambridge O´levels 2 A 5B and 1C.  Vianona High School. 
Tertiary Education3 Cambridge A´ Levels Eng, Biology, Geography
First aid TrainingYes, I do have a valid first aid.
Other trainingSwimming Teachers certificate, Child line Supervisors Certificate.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2009 - current.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?One, 8 month old female.
What were your duties?Feeding, changing, music and movement, walks to park, craft, nap time, story, teatime and lunch.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2007 - January 2009. I left for better opportunity.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?25 children boys and girls 5 - 6 year olds. 
What were your duties?Morning welcome, Themed lessons, Arts and Crafts, Music and movement, story time and packing up routine, Drama ring, teatime routine and manners, Fantasy Play.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary2005 - current.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?30 - 40 children boys and girls Grade 1 - Grade 7 ages from 7 - 13 years old.
What were your duties?Present bible stories, making sure the children interact with one another, prepare juices and teas for them, supervise them. 
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?Through teaching swimming for ten years and Sunday school for fifteen years and from working in a pre-school. I have understanding of children´s needs and I enjoy spending time with them.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?An 8 month old (not counting my own 3).
What activities are you involved in?Running Holiday Clubs Sunday School Women´s Mentored
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Women´s Adventure Boot Camp Bookkeeping for Husband´s business.
What are your interests?Hiking Reading Facilitating Family Foundations Courses
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?Their refreshing spontaneity, energy and imagination. I love to see their confidence and self esteem grow as they learn new skills.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I love teaching them swimming. I love teaching them music and movement and crafts. I love playing games with them and reading them stories. I love playing board games and lots of outdoor games. 
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would apply the knowledge that I have just acquired on my latest first aid course or immediately contact the relevant emergency medical personnel.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?A dog was hurt by the child unintentionally and put its teeth over the child´s face. I remained calm, reprimanded the dog and checked the child´s face for scratches. The skin was not damaged and I comforted the child.
What is your approach to discipline?I believe in one warning and then consistent consequences in agreement with the parents. 

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would get down to his/her level, tell them that I will listen when they are calm and making sure the child was in a safe place would distance myself away from them.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would immediately tell the child to stop and show them something that would distract and interest them after we have fetched a cloth and cleaned the mess. 
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would offer to sit beside them and help where necessary. I would offer an exciting activity for once the work is completed, I would explain consequences and contact the parent if necessary.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Any from 3 months to 16 years
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Judith Richter but only one day a week.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?Son 16 years Daughter 13 years Daughter 9 years
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?Fun, outgoing, respectful and diligent
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes, I can cook.
BreakfastPorridge, Scrambled Eggs, toast.
LunchCold chicken pieces, sliced fruit, yoghurt
DinnerMashed potato, stew and greens
SnackSliced fruit, nuts, yoghurt, sandwich
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No, I am fine with cooking any times of foods.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.3 brothers 3 sisters - all grown Retired parents and yes, still married.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.