Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Monique

Personal Details

Reference # 201-13208
Name Monique
Nationality South African
Age 29
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English and Afrikaans

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes,
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Honda Ballade 1991 model
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes, seatbelts all round working. 
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?Since 2009.

Education

Secondary EducationMatriculated at Rustenberg High School for Girls - 2008
Tertiary EducationCurrently studying my second year of BSc in Zoology and Marine Biology at University of Cape Town
First aid TrainingYes, I completed a Family and Friends CPR Orientation course through the Resuscitation Council of South Africa.
Other trainingNo, I do not have any other training at the moment. 

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingDuring the July 2010 school holidays. 
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?A large group of children from grade 1 to grade 7 (ages 6-13 years old). Boys and Girls.
What were your duties?I had to teach the children a dance and entertain them between activities. We assisted them wherever they needed help.I had to supervise them and take care of them.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingSince December 2006 and December 2007. Holiday care
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Grade 1 - 3 and Grade 6 and 7's. 5 children per group. 
What were your duties?Assisted with Arts and Crafts, groups activities, supervise them. Making sure they interacted with each other and plan activities for them. 
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am      

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I really love children and have thus far not had a bad experience with them. I am interested in baby sitting to gain experience around children and to earn some extra money.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?Around the age of 4 years old.
What activities are you involved in?I enjoy playing Tennis, running and trying to stay fit.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I enjoy watching sports and spending time with my family and friends. I occasionally spend my time reading, playing tennis, or catching up on course work
What are your interests?I love sports, children, outdoor activities, staying active, reading, watching television and socialising with friends.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I love that children are eager to learn, love activities and how much affection they can show. It is very rewarding.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I enjoy doing creative activities, such as crafts. I enjoy playing indoor and outdoor games with children. I enjoy the opportunity to teach them things, such as how to build puzzles.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would use my first aid training to access the situation and then call the relevant emergency number. I would then stay with the child and call the parents and explain the situation to them. The child's safety comes first.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it? 
What is your approach to discipline?I will follow instructions given by the parents on discipline. Discipline is very important and I will set rules for the children and ensure that my behaviour towards the children is one of respect, so that they will respond positively.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would ignore them and not give them attention to their tantrum. I would distract them with something fun. 
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would explain to them that they may not do that and give them paper to draw on. I would them sit with the child drawing for a while to ensure that they did not go back to drawing on the wall.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would find out why they don't want to do their homework. I would try and assist them with their homework.  
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?4 years old and above
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No, I do not assist any of my previous employers.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No, I do not have any children of my own. 
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a peoples person. I enjoy interacting with all types of people and of all ages. I am a encouraging and active person. I can be funny and shy sometimes. I love people and animals. I am responsible and a very determined person. I am sometimes an over thinker or an over analyser.    
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes, I can cook.
BreakfastFrench toast, eggs
LunchSandwiches with ham and cheese. 
DinnerSpaghetti or mac and cheese. Veggies and chicken.
SnackCream crackers with some Melrose cheese and water. 
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I am comfortable cooking any types of foods.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.I have three brothers aged 33, 31 and 16. My two older brothers live alone, while my younger brother and I are still living at home. My mother is a part time rep and my father is an IT manager at Shoprite Checkers. They are still married.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.