Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Lucille

Personal Details

Reference # 201-13165
Name Lucille
Nationality South African
Age 34
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st), German (2nd), Afrikaans (3rd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes, I have first aid.
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Volkswagen Citi Golf 2003 Model
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes, all working.
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?Since 2006

Education

Secondary EducationGerman International School of Cape Town - 2003 (Passed with Merit)
Tertiary EducationBachelor of Education (Senior and FET Phases) -UNISA - 2008
First aid TrainingYes, I have a valid first aid.
Other trainingThe Home Based Care Nursing Qualification
The HIV/Aids Care and Counselling Workshop
The Teaching English as a Foreign Language (TEFL)

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingSince January 2002 - current
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?3 , 5 and then later on a new born.
What were your duties?General babysitting duties, supervising them, preparing meals for them, bathing and changing nappies and getting ready for bed and reading stories. Au pairing the two older kids whilst the parents were in Italy, taking them to school, assisting with homework and projects, getting all their meals ready for them, making sure they had a bath and put them to bed.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary-December 2009 enrolled in my honours through Unisa.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Educator, Grade 8-12: Children per class 30 children   Ages from 14 - 17 years old boys and girls.
What were your duties?Teaching them English, History and Arts and Culture. 
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2003 -December 2008. I still go there every year for a month. 
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 and 4 years old. Two girls
What were your duties?Babysitting them, and Au pairing them, taking them out on outings, taking them to museums, assisting with homework and projects, supervising them and preparing meals for them. 
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingMarch 2011 - March 2012, I completed my contract.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1800+ Children, 6-16 years old, boys and girls.
What were your duties?Supervising, teaching and entertaining the children. I was teaching English in South Korea at Seongju English Centre, where various children came for a 2 day 'English Experience'. It was our job to make English learning fun.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have been babysitting people younger than I as long as I can remember and in my teens was always asked to babysit for family friends. I love children and enjoy taking care of them.  
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I have cared for is 6 months old. ( Tracey Babb's little girl)
What activities are you involved in?I enjoy hiking, swimming, playing games and Reading.  
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I engage in outdoor activities, sing Karaoke with my friends, go to the movies and organise game evenings (30 Seconds being a favourite)
What are your interests?Education, Art, Literature, Philosophy. 
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?Seeing the world through their eyes.    
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Playing games, drawing, dressing up, building things. Educational games, stimulation games.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would remain calm, see that everyone is safe, do everything possible to help and call the appropriate people (Fire brigade, Ambulance etc.) and the parents. 
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?While reaching for the child´s safety wings, she jumped into the water and struggled to keep her head above water. I yelled at her sister to grab her and as she hesitated, I stepped into the water (clothed) and grabbed her myself. Although she laughed about my wet pants later and seemed fine, I was somewhat traumatized and spoke to their mother about the incident.
What is your approach to discipline?Relational respect and reasoning work best when clear rules have been established. Children´s self-esteem has to remain intact.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would try and calm him/her down, find the source of his/her discontent and see what could be done.    
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Explain that this action is not acceptable and would not make his/her parents happy, giving them an alternative action or surface to draw on.    
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Ascertain the reason, stress the importance, negotiate.  Think about why they do not want to do their homework, there could be many reasons, they might not understand the work or not feeling well ect. 
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable working with any age.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Tracey Babb and Anja Wermer.    
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No, I do not have any children of my own.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?Congenial, down-to-earth, fun-loving and responsible. I am enthusiastic, creative and full of life. 
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes, I can cook. 
BreakfastEnglish breakfast
LunchPasta
DinnerMeat and vegetables
SnackFruit, crackers
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No, I am fine with cooking any types of foods.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.I have two sisters, one older, one younger. The youngest has a 20 month old boy whom I  take care of occasionally. My mother is a nursing sister, we are close. My father is deceased. 

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.