Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Melanie

Personal Details

Reference # 201-12997
Name Melanie
Nationality South African
Age 45
Gender Female
Marital Status Married
Languages English and Afrikaans

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Hyundai Elantra 2007
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?Since 1992

Education

Secondary EducationGood Hope Seminary- 1992 
Tertiary Education

Boston House College - School of Interior Design Cornerstone Christian Institute - 1995 - 1997.

Cornerstone Christian institute Counselling course with - 1st year.

First aid TrainingYes, Expired

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingMarch 2003 to June 2009 - The step mother started looking full time after the children.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Sabian (female) 10 Tiara (female) 3.5 Peter (male) 2.5
What were your duties?Mornings - getting kids dressed , fed and taking to school. Afternoons- going to house and preparing lunch, collecting from school and home for lunch or lunch on the way to ballet or karate. Homework supervision Liaising with remedial teachers Liaising with educational psychologists Project work Evenings- cooking supper , bathing getting kids to bed.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingI started in April 2012 - Present, the children are going to new schools and will be going to after-care.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 Children, a girl aged 5 and a boy aged 3 years old.
What were your duties?Household manager, I am the children's Au-pair, I plan weekly meals and cook for the family 3 times a week.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingNovember 2011 - March 2012, I relocated to Gauteng.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 Boy, 15 years old.
What were your duties?I was their household manager and Au-Pair / Tutor to their son. Doing all household shopping, planning meals, cooking 3 times a week and liaising with teachers on the child's activities and school work including medication.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingI started in 2003 - 2009, The father's girlfriend took over and moved in looking after the kids.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?3 Children, 19, 13 and 12 years old.
What were your duties?I was in charge of running the house and instructing the nanny. Collecting the children from school, extra murals supervision, homework supervision, cooking evening meals, weekly family shopping and organising play-dates for the children. 
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg East Rand
Johannesburg Sandton
Johannesburg South
Johannesburg West
PRETORIA
Pretoria North
Pretoria East
Pretoria Central and West
Pretoria Centurion
MIDRAND
Midrand

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm  
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have been in the Childcare industry for the past 12 - 15 years . I started off by babysitting and it became my passion.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I have cared for was 3 months old.
What activities are you involved in?I am involved in many activities through my church, we do voluntary work at orphanages and in the community. 
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I spend most of my spare time studying, reading, movies and camping.
What are your interests?Reading, Movies, Music and Camping
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I love that with children there is never a dull moment and that from their eyes the world is full of hope and joy.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I love spending time outdoors , discovering nature. I also love spending time doing arts and crafts and also reading.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I generally stay very calm and try to subdue everyone and asses how bad the situation is. Call the parents and then continue with the relevant actions. I always make sure to have police , doctors and emergency units numbers on my phone.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I worked in a family environment where the mother was a drug addict, there were many situations where I had to act fast and calmly. I never let the situation get out of control.
What is your approach to discipline?First and foremost I will sit down with parents and discuss how they approach discipline. But I am very calm and assertive and generally take my time in talking through a situation.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would distract the child and turn their attention to something else. The more attention given during a tantrum the more likely they are to continue. 
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would calmly explain that walls are not for drawing on and provide enough creative space for the child to express their creativity.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would do something else with the child for a short time and then come back to doing homework. I would try something fun before attempting to get them to work further on homework.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable working with any ages.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No, I don't work for any of my previous employers. 
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No, I do not have any children of my own.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a happy and fun loving person. I enjoy life. I am calm and don't get rattled easily.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastYoghurt , scrambled egg and a fruit
LunchA healthy sandwich , fruit
DinnerChicken with veg and potato , and a small dessert like jelly and custard
SnackFruit , yoghurt , nuts , juice
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No I am fine with cooking any types of foods.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.My mom is a remedial tutor. My dad passed away 7 years ago from cancer. My brother owns a flooring company.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.