Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Jessica

Personal Details

Reference # 201-12971
Name Jessica
Nationality South African
Age 28
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English and Afrikaans Billingual

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2005 Renault Modus 5 door
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes, all in good working order.
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?Yes, I have stated below. 
If yes please describe the accident and when it happenedVehicle in front stopped unexpectedly to turn and I unfortunately wasn´t able to break in time and thus went into the back of him. Minor damage was done.
How long have you been driving for?Since October 2009

Education

Secondary EducationSpringfield Convent Senior School
Tertiary EducationUCT, studying a business science in organisational psychology.
First aid TrainingYes, I do have a valid first aid done on the 15th of May 2010. 
Other trainingRed Cross Children´s Hospital.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving2008-present. I still go and volunteer when I am able to. (Red Cross Children´s Hospital)
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Various ages and genders, mainly aged between 2-10 boys and girls.  
What were your duties?Playing with the children, spending time with them and giving them one on one attention. Help the children to colour in and build puzzles etc. Tidy up once time is up and supervising them as well. 
Your comments on the experience with this positionI really enjoy this type of work, I have fun with the children, and enjoy spending time with them. I  have not had any issues. 

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2009-present. Still do occasional baby-sitting during the evenings.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Two boys, aged 8 and 11.
What were your duties?Making sure they had completed their homework before bed (sometimes helping with the homework if needed). Making sure they had showered and brushed their teeth etc, and putting them to bed.
Your comments on the experience with this positionI enjoy this position a lot, I have had no issues at all.

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm            
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm            
12pm-6pm            
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have always loved spending time with children. My school had an outreach program which I was involved in called SMILE (in which you teach underprivileged children various subjects.) I really enjoyed my afternoons with the children and thus decided to continue working with children. (Red Cross). I am interested in au pairing as I really enjoy working with children, I would also like to earn some money in order to travel.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest children I have cared for is 2 years old.
What activities are you involved in?I play social hockey at UCT, dancing and running.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I am currently at varsity, I occasionally work at various functions including weddings and dinner parties. I enjoy doing volunteer work.
What are your interests?I enjoy spending time with my friends and family. I would love to travel the world, especially eastern Europe. I enjoy doing sports and outdoor activities. I like to do different and fun things.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?Its nice to be able to be able to help them grow and learn things. Its fun and interesting to see things from their perspectives.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I enjoy baking, reading stories, playing cricket with the boys. Doing different activities and playing games. Building puzzles. Swimming and going on various outings (picnics etc). 
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Depending on what kind of an emergency, I would hopefully be able to firstly make sure that the child is safe. I would then call whichever emergency service (depending) as well as alert the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I have not encountered a difficult situation that I have not been able to handle on my own.
What is your approach to discipline?I believe that it is important to set boundaries, and ensure that these are adhered to, at the same time being firm but fair.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would try to distract them with something else. If they would still persist in their tantrum I would give them their space and ignore them and go and do something which I know they would enjoy. Hopefully they would see that they are missing out on the fun that I am having, stop their tantrum and come and join me.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Explain to the child why it is wrong to draw on the wall. I would then ask the child to please help me clean the wall, and then give him/her some paper to draw on rather.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Explain to him/her why homework is important. I would teach them ways in which to make homework fun and exciting. Encourage the child to do their work and help them if needs be.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Age groups I am comfortable working with is 2 - 13 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I still assist Red Cross children's hospital and Colleen. 
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No, I do not have any children of my own.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am outgoing and sociable, I enjoy meeting new people and doing different things. I am honest and trustworthy, I am prepared to work hard and I am a fast learner. I am very adventurous and full of energy. 
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes, I can cook.
BreakfastFruit and cereal, or egg on toast.
LunchSandwich and a salad.
DinnerLasagne with veggies; pasta with source or a chicken dish.
SnackYoghurt, popcorn, biscuits, fruit.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No, I am fine with cooking any types of foods.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.I come from a very close-knit family. I have two older brothers (aged 23 & 25). My father unfortunately passed away and my mother works in the food industry with Ina Parman. We all get along very well.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.