Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Bianca Kerry

Personal Details

Reference # 201-12580
Name Bianca Kerry
Nationality South African
Age 29
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English, Hebrew, Afrikaans

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2008 Honda Jazz
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?I have been driving since April 2009.

Education

Secondary EducationKing David Victory Park - 2008
Tertiary EducationCommunity College in Marin County, USA - Screen Writing Class, Voice Acting and Flash Fiction-2009
First aid TrainingYes I completed one in May 2009.
Other trainingI completed an Au Pair Workshop in New York

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI au paired overseas from 18th of May 2009 to the 16th June 2010. My reason for leaving was due to my Au pair visa expiring.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Loren had 4 kids, twin girls who where 3 years old, 1 girl who was 8 years old and one boy who was 10 years old.
What were your duties?My duties were looking after the kids, playing with them, taking them to the park, reading and teaching them, doing stimulating activities with them, doing laundry, preparing light snacks and school lunch, and occasional babysitting. babysitting
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg East Rand
Johannesburg Sandton

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have always loved children, I just had an instant connection to them. It started off when I helped out family and friends with their children, and it just developed from there.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I have cared for is 2.5 years old when I helped out family friends.
What activities are you involved in?Activities I enjoy doing are reading, writing and listening to music.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?In my spare time I like to go to movies, listen to music, spend time with friends, read, write.
What are your interests?My interests are music, film, theatre, history, and politics.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?What I like most about childcare is the bond that is formed between me and the child. Its more special then anything knowing that I can play a part in a child's life, and being able to help enhance their character and morals is a great thing.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Activities I enjoy doing with children are going to the park, going to the library to read books, doing arts and crafts, singing, playing games, and colouring in.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?In an emergency I would first access the situation, make sure the kids are safe and not hurt, and then take the necessary steps to deal with the situation.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?A difficult situation I encountered was when the twins I was caring for were very scared of dogs, and when they would come across dogs they would throw a fit, start screaming and crying and clutch onto me. I taught them to pat the dog and see it licks them and loves them, and that you don't need to be scared of them and that they are our friends.
What is your approach to discipline?I prefer to only speak once. If they don't listen to me, I will count to 3 and if they still don't listen I would just give them a time out and explain why what they were doing was naughty. I don't believe in any physical discipline but about teaching what is right from wrong.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?If a 2 year old was throwing a tantrum, I would let them have their tantrum for 2 minutes and then I would go lay down on the floor next to them (getting on their level) and start singing or talking to them about something to distract what they  performing about.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?If a 5 year old was drawing on a wall, I would get down to their level and explain why drawing on a wall is wrong and that they should not do it again.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?If an 8 year old was refusing to do their homework I would try negotiate with them and explain to them that it will be a win win situation.This will allow them to look up to you and respect you. 
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable caring for children between the ages of 2 and 16 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No I don't work for any previous clients.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No I don't have any children of my own.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I would describe myself as an outgoing, warm, confident and down to earth person who has high ambitions and always try my best to achieve them.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes I can cook.
BreakfastEggs and toast / cereal / fruit / yoghurt
LunchMacaroni and cheese / grilled cheese sandwich / sandwiches
DinnerCottage Pie / Meat, rice and vegetables / stir fry
SnackFruit / nuts / vegetables
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I am uncomfortable cooking pork.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.My parents are still happily married. I have one brother who is 23 and immigrated to Israel last year. My mom is an Executive PA and my dad is a Bookkeeper. We live in a small house in Orange Grove. I have a boyfriend that lives in California who I met when I was au pairing in America.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.