Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Mariette

Personal Details

Reference # 201-12570
Name Mariette
Nationality South African
Age 33
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English and Afrikaans

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate? If No, please click here to take part in a course near you.Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2005 Ford Icon
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?Yes
If yes please describe the accident and when it happenedIt was raining and my car slid into someone elses car.
How long have you been driving for?I have been driving since 2004

Education

Secondary EducationI matriculated with merit from Noordheuwel High School in 2004. Subjects taken: English, Computer Skills, Maths, Biology, Geography, Afrikaans.
Tertiary Education

I completed a degree in National Diploma in Equine Science from Tshwane University of Technology in 2008.

First aid Training(If no, please fill in the application form for the course byclicking here, we cannot register you if have not done or do not complete a first aid course)Yes
Other trainingI completed a certificate in Professional make-up from Kohl Make-up Academy in June 2010.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI worked for Mrs. Verity from January to December 2008. My reason for leaving was due to it being a practical for my degree in National Diploma in Equine Science.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I worked with children between the ages of 3 and 13 years old, the number of children ranged as children were coming in and out.
What were your duties?My duties were giving lessons in horse riding, riding young horses, hosting pony camps, and general duties such as cleaning stables and wounds etc.
Your comments on the experience with this positionIt was hard work but I did enjoy it.

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg East Rand
Johannesburg Sandton
Johannesburg South
Johannesburg West

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Availability Questions

Please state your areas of availabilityJohannesburg
Please state your accurate times of availabilityI am available Monday to Friday from 1pm onwards for both au pairing and babysitting.

Salary expectations

Full timeR7000
Part timeNeg.

Questions

Please tell us a bit more about the courses you are currently busy with, if any and also a bit more about where you see yourself in 5 years? I am not currently studying anything at present. In 5 years I would like to be a make-up artist.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I got involved in childcare when I was working with the horses. I then took a gap year and then realized that I love children and wanted to become and au pair.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child child I have cared for is 4 years old.
What activities are you involved in?Activities I am involved in is horse riding and dancing.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?In my spare time I go horse riding and enjoy dancing.
What are your interests?My interests are horses, animals, make-up and dancing.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?What I like most about being apart of a child´s life is seeing them develop and grow, and know that you have an influence on their lives.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Activities I enjoy doing with children are doing arts and crafts, colouring in, playing ball and reading.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would first access the situation, and if need be contact emergency services and parents, and make sure the child is safe. I would use my first aid knowledge.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?the most difficult situation I have encountered was when a child fell off a horse. I dealt with it by accessing the situation and dealing with it in the appropriate way.
What is your approach to discipline?My approach to disciplinary is firm but fair, I believe a child should know who is in charge. I also believe in the naughty corner.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?If a two year old was throwing a tantrum, I would try calm them down by saying no that´s enough. If they carry on I would put them in the naughty corner.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?If a 5 year old was drawing on a wall, I would take the crayon away from him, and tell them that its very naughty to draw on the wall and you mustn´t draw on the wall and you only draw on paper. I would then get the child to help me clean the wall, and then give him a piece of paper to draw on.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?If an 8 year old was refusing to do their homework I would tell them I will sit down with them and help them with their homework and that they cant play till the homework is done.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am most comfortable working with children 5 years and up.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes I would for Clinton Nagoor.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No I don´t have any children of my own.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I would describe myself as fun, out going, caring and kind.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastEggs and toast / fun or healthy cereal
LunchSandwich / hot dog / noodles
DinnerFish fingers and mash / macaronni and cheese / salad
SnackCucumbers and carrots / fruit / cracker busicuts
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I am uncomfortable cooking meat.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.My parents are still married, and I have four brothers who are 21, 26, 29, 32 years old. Two of my brothers are married and my one brothers has 2 children. My dad is a lawyer and my mom is a project manager for Eskom. We are a very close family.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.