Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Chantelie

Personal Details

Reference # 201-12569
Name Chantelie
Nationality South African
Age 31
Gender Female
Marital Status Married
Languages English/ Afrikaans- fully bilingual

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Honda Civic 1998
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?Since 2002

Education

Secondary EducationParel Vallei High school - 2006.
Tertiary Education

Attended Medi Clinic 3 months Nursing school

First aid TrainingYes, I do have valid first aid.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingWas never fully employed, work for them on a part-time basis.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 boys, aged 4yrs 6months and another aged 3. I started there when the eldest was only 2 weeks old.
What were your duties?Changing nappies, bathing, preparing food, feeding, entertaining, educating, taking them on outings, putting to bed, babysitting (throughout the night), accompanying them on holidays, accompanying the youngest to swimming lessons and Babyworld, etc.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving1 year as agreed upon from the beginning, unless I could stay longer. Left as I got married and started my nursing career.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children. 1 girl aged 1yr 6months at the time and her baby was born after I have been there for 6 months. Looked after both of them full-day.
What were your duties?Bathing, preparing meals for the children, feeding, putting to bed, entertaining, educating, taking on outings, taking the girl to Babyworld, etc.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingSince August 2005 , sometimes still assist them.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?3 month old and one toddler.
What were your duties?General duties, the family used to go away on holiday and I would have full care of them over weekends they went away, preparing bottles, stimulating, changing nappies, putting down for naps, entertaining, making sure the little one was in bed and bathe , preparing all the meals for them and keeping them happy.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingSince January 2008 - current. I am her PA and Au pair
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?4 children, 5,,7,9 and 11 year olds all girls.
What were your duties?Everything, assisting with  homework, collecting from school and extra murals, getting them ready for bath time, keeping them entertained, taking them out, preparing meals for them and supervising them. On the PA side I worked on the admin side, filing, typing, getting documents sorted out, doing grocery shopping.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
False Bay
Stellenbosch

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm  
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I started at the age of 9 and looked after many children in my community and my cousins who were born at the time. I looked after the babies and toddlers throughout the night when it was necessary. I have just always loved children, especially babies and toddlers as it is nice to get to know them at a young age already.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?Newborn
What activities are you involved in?Hiking, going to gym and babysitting.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Gym, make baby products, do crafts, babysit, visit friends.
What are your interests?Children, especially babies.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?Everything! There´s nothing I don´t like. I love getting to know them and becoming a part of their lives.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Painting, reading, singing, walking, making crafts, teaching, building locks, playing games.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Depends on what emergency. I a child got hurt, I would first stabilise the child and call the parents and ambulance/ doctor. I will make sure everyone is safe and I always put the children´s lives before mine.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?A boy I looked after choked while his parents had friends over. I handled it very carefully and calmly and immediately acted on the First Aid I have learned and got the boy breathing and calm again.
What is your approach to discipline?I always ask the parents how they would like to have their kids disciplined and act accordingly. I prefer not to have to give them hidings, but if that is what the parents want, I will use it as a last resort after I have tried other disciplining methods (e.g. sitting on the ´naughty chair´, taking a toy away, etc.)

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Depends on what type of tantrum. If it is where he/she is looking for attention I will try distract them or ´let them be´ for a while and tell them that I will wait for them until they are themselves again.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I will show him/her that I am upset and that it is not allowed. I will then let them clean it up and I will help help if necessary.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I will let them understand that it is their responsibility and if it isn´t done in a specific period of time, they will suffer the consequences, e.g. being grounded, no tv, etc. The will not be allowed sweets, tv or play time until the home work is done.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Any age group, but enjoy babies and toddlers the most.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, currently still for Sonnia
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No children of my own yet.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a very kind, patient, loyal, trustworthy, organized, loyal and caring person with a true passion for kids.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastCereal/ Toast with egg, tomato, bacon/ Muffins/ Mielie pap, etc
LunchAny cooked meal/ toasted sandwiches/ bread, etc
DinnerAny cooked meal
SnackProvitas, dried fruit, fruit, yoghurt, small sweet, etc
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No, I am fine with cooking any types of foods.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.I am one of 5 children and I am the middle one. I have 2 older brothers, one aged 26 (married), another aged 24 (engaged), and a twin brother/sister aged 19. My parents are still married and I come out of a very healthy and loving family. They also stay in Somerset West, so I see them often I have been married for almost 3 years and my husband owns his own graphic design company in Somerset West.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.